THE WORRY TREE

 

plantation21I have some catching up to do following my 9-day wifi outage. One topic that seemed to generate some interest is The Worry Tree. Not to worry, here’s the story…

While sitting at my desk a few weeks before Hurricane Irma even existed, my attention was drawn to a crackling sound outside. I glanced up and looked out the window just in time to watch a large limb on my biggest tree crack off and fall to the ground. Holy Fire Wood! It just fell. No wind, no storm, just sunshine!

Turns out the tree has not been properly trimmed over the years and now some of the weakened areas are beginning to make themselves known…by cracking and falling off. So what to do?

In the city of Plantation where I live, trees are sacred. You cannot take one down without a permit. You are also required to replace the downed tree with a new one. If you violate these regulations you are subject to arrest and then spending time in the big tree house.

To hasten this saga along, the tree was declared dangerous and would have to come down. Wow! This is a huge 3-story structure. Who’s gonna pay for all this? Oh…that would be me.

david3David the arborist is hired for the job (highly recommended: heytreeguy.com). This is not a simple matter of slicing a cut into the trunk down at ground level and yelling “timmmmmm-ber!” Oh no! This tree is a story above the house and within 12 feet from that window I was staring out of. It has to come down in sections. David knows how to do this…with robes and mirrors, magic words and prayers, and lots of saws of all sizes and shapes.

Half the tree is down by the time Irma hits the Florida coast. I am very very nervous that the remaining half may not make it through the storm, meaning my house will have a good 20-30 foot limb embedded in my bedroom. We don’t sleep there while Irma roars outside.

The storm passes. Almost every tree I have is down, but not The Worry Tree! Woo-hoo! A bullet dodged. David returns and, bit by bit, the remaining sections of the tree are transported to a pile on the front lawn along with the rest of the hurricane debris.

treepile

postirmaSo my worries are gone. But then, so too is the tree outside my window which for 20 years has featured all kinds of birds, squirrels and large green Geigo Insurance-type lizards all doing what they do…and none of them realizing I was just a few feet away, two stories up and enjoying their company. I will miss the parade.

 

[Side Note: That round patch of dirt in the foreground is where our Plumeria tree once stood.  It also gave into Irma’s winds…we will miss its beautiful bouquets.]

 

MainBanner3

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in environment, gardening, weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE WORRY TREE

  1. rcarmean says:

    Regarding The Worry Tree hitting your house (or you): All’s Well That Ends Well. Now, your only worry is replacing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

