A MOUSE IN MY MOUTH

mouthmouse

Ok, I know you are excited, me too.  It’s been a while since my need to rhyme stirred within me and forced out yet another compelling conglomeration of nonsense.  Hey, this stuff keeps me out of the nursing home and contributes to my personal wellbeing…at least that’s what the therapist told me.  That said, what more could I give you to help make your day too!   So here now…A Mouse in my Mouth

 

When I woke up this morning there was a mouse in my mouth.

I knew he was lost. He should have been heading north, not south.

Now, I know waking with a mouse in your mouth is a little bit weird,

But truth be told, it’s not the first time this mouse has appeared.

I was about to spit him out when he asked if could stay some more.

He said he’d been running all night and his feet were sore.

I told him okay, but in an hour or two I’d have to eat.

He said he needed at least two, he was really beat

In due time he began to snore and it actually rattled my teeth.

So here’s this mouse in my mouth causing me even greater grief.

I thought about opening my mouth and showing him to the cat

Wondering if he’d ever seen a mouse asleep in a mouth like that.

By now the mouse’s tail was sticking out and drooping over my lip

If I wanted a drink I’d need a staw. There’s no way I could sip.

I was upset. Having a mouse in your mouth is no way to start the day.

If I had known, I could have arranged someplace else for him to stay.

I  guess worse things could have been in my mouth when I awoke.

I’m thinking maybe a limping elephant with a leg that’s broke.

I suppose he’d give me a hard time and not want to leave.

Crying a lot and no doubt wiping his trunk on my sleeve.

Or come to think of it, it could’ve been a rambunctious raccoon

Whose therapy sessions couldn’t begin too soon.

Ooo-Ooo even worse, it could’ve been my freeloading cousin Ralph

Hmm, maybe it’s not so bad I woke up with a mouse in my mouth.

*****

Hey, if you like whimsical poems, there’s a great children’s book full of ’em about as silly as they get.  It’s titled Never Goose a Moose…and a bunch of other things you should never do!  The author is…is…hey, it’s me, Marc Kuhn…and Lynda Mangoro has done the illustrations which are as much fun as the poems.  It’s a great bedtime read for young children.  It’s at amazon.com.  More about the book, including excerpts at Nevergooseamoose.com.Best MooseCov

Radiomarc's Podcast cvMainBanner

ronplug

*****

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in Poetry, of sorts, WHATEVER!, whimsy, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

