72 SKIDOO!

BD

Today I am 72 years old. No, you don’t have to drop right down to the bottom of this posting and wish me a happy birthday. Lots of past and present friends already have done that.  I am touched and so grateful to have left enough of a positive impression on so many people that they have something nice to say.  I know there are a few out there who would not be so charitable. In fact, I suspect there are a few who would not hesitate to toss a nasty of some sort my way.  It’s okay, I forgive you; hope you me.

While I arbitrarily selected “50” as the age I’ve reached today (who in the hell wants to celebrate 72) it hasn’t been achieved without a few rough spots along the way and I have certainly had my share.   As I have on past birthdays, I got to thinking about all the things I’ve lived through and there are a few key decisions I’ve made that I wish I had back to redo over again or at least be given some time to figure out an alternative outcome.

Then I thought what a perfect opportunity this is to “rerun” a previous posting that I particularly like. In fact, I like it so much I may have run this one twice before! So, if you remember it, don’t feel guilty moving on to something else…even if you don’t remember it, you can still move on guilt-free if you wish.   Okay, here it is…

GOING BACK WITH ALL YOUR SH*T,  Originally Posted on February 13, 2014

So I was out on the back patio in my thinking chair once more.  Not sure it was exactly reincarnation I was thinking about, but it had something to do with going back for a second spin.  I suppose many of you are like me when it comes to wanting a second chance.  You know, a chance to go back in time and relive a moment, a day or maybe even do your whole life all over again.  Of course, we’d want to be transported back with full knowledge, full awareness of who we were and who we became.  To live over again while being able to use your personal history to your advantage would be the opportunity of a lifetime—maybe that should be two lifetimes.

There are a few things I would certainly like to correct.  You too?  I made some wrong decisions; acted inappropriately at times; or simply didn’t understand what I was doing.  Given a second chance, I would not make those same mistakes.  But, as they say, you can’t go home again.  Too bad.  All this wealth of knowledge and experience and no opportunity to use it is a woeful waste.

I’ve made reference to a scene in the movie Rocky before (the original Rocky movie).  Bergess Meredith plays an old has-been boxer turned trainer, turned corner gym manager.  One night, he wearily climbs a few flights of steps up to Rocky’s South Philly apartment and knocks on his door.  The younger wannabe champ is less than hospitable to his unexpected guest.  But Meredith comes with a mission.  He wants Rocky to let him train and manage him for the big fight with Apollo Creed.  Rocky isn’t very receptive.  He questions Meredith’s motive.  Meredith’s response?  It’s classic:

“I got all this knowledge. I got it up here (points to his head).  I want to give it to you. I want to give you this knowledge.  I want to take care of you.  I got all this sh*t and I want to make sure that it doesn’t happen to you.”

catchingtrainHow many us have “all this sh*t” wallowing in us, too?  Crap and circumstance that we experienced and now it dwells like a permanent infection that haunts us for the rest of our lives.  The sh*t is all those things we did wrong, or all the wrongs that were done to us.  True, we get over most of them, but wouldn’t it be great to be able to go back, knowing what you know, so you could “un-sh*t” your life on the second go-round.  Can you imagine what a trip that’d be?  I don’t know about you, but I’d buy a ticket, grab all my baggage—especially the heavy pieces—and run like hell to catch that train.  WooHoo!

*****

One decision few people regret is adding a pet to the family, especially the first pet.  My friend Ron has a three-part posting underway on his blog, one for each of his best friends.  Part one is about his golden lab, Angus.  It’s a nice story, exceptionally well written and if you are a dog lover you will instantly relate.  Here’s the link:  https://rcarmean.wordpress.com/

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 72 SKIDOO!

  1. Howard says:

    I’ll tell you who wants to celebrate turning 72. YOU DO. That’s who!

    Imagine where you’d be if you weren’t turning 72. So I’ll celebrate you turning 72. Here. Now. With us. Instead of that other place. You can still walk and talk and see and hear and breathe. And write.

    So don’t bitch about 72. Because I’m right behind you. And you have to make it look good for me!

    Like

  2. Suzanne says:

    Happy Birthday

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Roni: Here’s two: After ten years and several good promotions at a really good place in Washington, D.C. I sorta self-destructed, mainly because I was a little green behind the ears….I blew it and did not realize how for a few more years later…that was #1…#2, it eventually led to my leaving Washington and I have never forgiven myself for that. True Confessions!

    Like

  4. Roni says:

    Give us an example of one thing you would have done differently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

