ANOTHER NEW KNEE…BUT WHO’S COUNTING?

drsaw

After a long run of successful procrastination, tomorrow I will be rolled into the operating room at a nearby hospital.  There, the bones in my left leg will be sawed in two places and a new, manmade knee will be installed.  As they say, been there, done that…seven years ago when the knee in my right leg was replaced.   That didn’t go so well at the time, hence my seven-year stall in getting the left leg done.

I tempted fate twice in that seven-year period with visits to the surgeon, each time the awaiting joint showing increased signs of rebellion.  But each time I talked myself out of proceeding out of fear of “what happened last time.”  The first operation was met with a strong, hostile reaction on behalf of just about every element of my right leg—muscles, bones, blood vessels, tissue, skin—everything EXCEPT the knee itself.  I had an unusual recovery that took the right knee replacement well over two years before I was able to strut pain free.  The left leg hurt, but not as badly as its post-op partner.

So I guess it is natural that I feel a little anxious about this second operation.  The doctor is optimistic that, like love, knee replacement is better the second time around.  He has some new robotics that make the process a lot simpler and, supposedly, less painful.   He also told me he will perform some nerve block procedures that will do likewise.  I am going into it with a positive attitude and a certain amount of faith that what the doctor says will happen, happens.

How soon I return here to tell you about the outcome of my adventure is anybody’s guess.  I do recall the first few days after my first operation were quite challenging. I suppose posting my blog won’t be the first thing that comes to mind.  But then, it could be sooner than I think …assuming I get a leg up.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ANOTHER NEW KNEE…BUT WHO’S COUNTING?

  1. suzanne Langman says:

    Keep your chin up, all of our blessings are with you.
    I guess i shouldn’t say ; ‘break a leg’

    Like

  2. Marc Kuhn says:

    Mike Fuller…I shall remain optimistic despite the fact the image of fireworks on the Delaware could happen again…might I be crossing the river without an oar, but unlike George I won’t be standing up in the boat….stay tuned!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rcarmean says:

    If your knee responds as well as my back did to surgery, you will be walking in the ice cream aisle at your local supermarket an hour after the Doctor says “Cut! That’s a wrap. Where do I send my bill?”

    Like

  4. Yeah, that nerve block thingy is great, until it isn’t. The Child Bride had her knee done a couple of years back. She, like you, has sworn she would have to be hog tied at gunpoint to ever go through that again. All was ducky UNTIL that pesky nerve block wore off. That calm, peaceful lady in the hospital bed over there lit up like the Delaware River on New Years eve. Prepare, my friend. Line up the drugs you don’t think you need on the tray table ’cause you’re gonna want them and more. Hopefully your midnight shift nurse will have a better sense of humor about it than the one we had.

    Like

Leave a Reply

