MARC’S SUCCESSFUL WEEKEND!

icecream

What a successful weekend!  First of all, if you know anything about me you know that ice cream ranks #1 on my food chain and, therefore, it is with the utmost euphoria that I discovered two new, GOOD flavors among the Publix premium brand this weekend. Publix, for those not from these parts is “the” supermarket that nicely serves the hunger pangs of most Floridians.  Now, do not consider this a crass commercial plug on my part, but rather think of it as a public service announcement from me to you.  The two flavors are  Mocha Mud Pie and Chocolate Cookie Quarry.  Not only are the packages really cool, the stuff inside was great.  Way to go Publix!

Okay, on to other great things that happened on Marc’s Successful Weekend. Saturday morning  I was wide awake at 3am, but I did not waste the time toss’n and turn’n.  Nope, not me.  Instead, I made chocolate chip cookies from scratch and they turned out perfect…which means they are a disaster for the, ah, diet I’m on.  So, okay, it’s a likable disaster. Nonetheless, I cannot help myself from grabbing one every time I am in the kitchen.  I have been in the kitchen a lot. That’s where they are; that’s where I go.  Normally, I am a very disciplined person…except when it comes to baked goods, especially homemade chocolate chip cookies.   Oh, did  I mention I am supposed to be on a bit of a diet…again.

Next, a funny thing happened during an author webinar I was watching on the internet.  This one dealt with the do’s and don’ts for authors attempting to establish a successful website for the purpose of marketing and selling their book(s). Like 100 others (the host mentioned that number) I had responded in advance to the request that people submit samples of their websites and they would be used to illustrates points made during the webinar.  So out of the aforementioned 100 websites, whose do you think was the very first one to be selected and ripped?   You guess right.  Subsequently, I spent the entire rest of the weekend redesigning my website, but I was having some technical difficulties and “happiness” issues. I was not happy with everything I did  and not everything I did was working properly.  Consequently, I put off making any changes. You can still catch the bad example at http://marckuhn.com

During all my fiddling around with my website I committed the inexcusable, unacceptable, can’t-believe-I-did-that mistake.  I was so involved in the new design I was developing that I did not take the time to save it properly.  And then…and then…well, you can see this coming.  I hiccuped the wrong way and it was all gone.  I am still not sure what I did.  It happened in the last minute of the Green Bay/Dallas game so I was a little distracted, rightly so.  Green Bay won in the last few seconds.  I lost everything in the last few seconds.

But here’s the unusual thing that happened…I did not get upset!   I would normally start throwing electronic equipment across the room or launch coffee mugs off the loft railing onto the masses below and then thrust my thoracic cavity violently against the chimney on the roof.  I did none of those things.  How unlike me.  And that is another reason it was a successful weekend.  I managed to control my computer temper and I made the decision that all the stuff that I produce on the computer, while I previously judged meritorious and worthy of penultimate platitudes, is just more of the same old crap I spend my time doing that nobody really gives a damn about except me.  I am finally getting over all this and I will accept a whole new neutral attitude about my time spent at the computer(s).  This has caused a great release of angst and frustration out from my body and soul and it feels GREAT!  Never again shall I take my blog and websites so seriously.  So what if my website headline is too vague!

Okay, onto the final event of my successful weekend.  I had the beginning of an epiphany!  What’s that you ask? Well, my personal definition of an epiphany is finally, finallllly coming up with even the tiniest inkling of a unique idea for my next book.  After almost an entire year of braindeadness I have at least an idea that I will begin researching.  It may not blossom, but right now it is sprouting roots and taking hold….and it all has to do with this:

isaacmarc

This is a picture I featured on one of my postings a few weeks back.  That’s Isaac on the left.  He’s a distant relative of mine that Ancestry.com dug up.  He died in his 70s when I was 10 years old.  We never knew each other.  He lived his entire life in Australia.  The other dude, on the right, is me at about the same age as Isaac.  Do you see any similarities in our appearance, besides we’re both wearing a bowtie?  Do you think DNA sorta prowls around one’s family lineage, maybe even “bounces around” and every once in a while it configures itself into an almost exact duplicate state that it did once before?  Do you think that could happen?   And is it only cosmetics that the DNA replicates…or could more things be involved?  Hmmmm.

I hope you had a good weekend too!

*****

mkwanted

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in communication, WHATEVER!, WRITING. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

