DOG NIGHTS

inkblot

Something happened the other night that I will share with you here.  It’s certainly nothing earth-shattering, but I found it both curious and fascinating.  In other words, it was a hoot!

I am sure that at several times in your life you found yourself looking skyward and fashioning imaginary objects out of the cloud formations above.  I am also sure that many of you are familiar with the Rorschach Test, which is a psychological exam involving the patient interpreting images made from inkblots (pictured above).

It is fascinating how people see imaginary images quite different from the physical source from which they are derived.  Such was the circumstance for me the other night.  But, first a little background information.

Those who know me well are aware that I have the misfortune of living with several sleep disorders, among them sleep apnea.  This is an ailment that involves the collapse of the air passage when the body is relaxed (asleep).  Soon after the collapse occurs, the brain senses it is not getting enough oxygen so it goes into action by screaming, “Hey you, I’m suffocating up here.  Wake up and breathe!”  Consequently, if you suffer from this sleep disorder, you fall a sleep often through the night, but you are awakened just as frequently.

One thing that inhibits the process of sleep apnea is sleeping in an upright position.  I am so tired at times that I have no trouble sleeping in a chair.  I often fall asleep at my desk, sometimes while writing this blog. I know, you do the same thing when you read it.

A few months back I purchased one of the new “motion” beds that raises half the mattress in an upright position.  I am not sure if it is helping or not, especially since I still find myself asleep in my chair.  Such was the case the other night.

So here I was, soundly asleep in the chair, facing the bed.  I slowing woke up, very much in a drowsy state.  As I opened my eyes what I saw at first startled me and I almost fell out of the chair.  How the pillow ever transformed into what it did, is anybody’s guess.  It was so amazing I took a picture (below).

img_0371

Do I have to walk this one too?

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in pets, WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DOG NIGHTS

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    I suppose, Mike Fuller, one could have even scarier bedmates…there’s nothing like lying next to an angry wife!

    Like

  2. Well, we’ve had tales of dolls coming to life to foist their evil upon the humans within reach, and gremlins and even giant spiders and ants engorged with radiation or chemical pollutants. Why not murderous linens? “Bedsheet Bullies!” “Pillowcase Poltergeists!” “Mattress Cover Murderers!”

    Best sleep with one eye open Marc.

    Like

  3. Marc Kuhn says:

    Ron…no way…Bill’s the size of a loaf of bread…this guys’s a retriever.

    Like

  4. rcarmean says:

    I see Bill. Do you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

