IT’S ABOUT TIME…AGAIN!

Composite of Clock and Calendar

Something is not right here.  This is the third posting in a row that involves the topics of growing old and death.  I sense a theme.  I don’t like themes necessarily, at least this kind of theme.  I prefer spontaneity,  surprise, variety.  I would get off this somber track, but I already contrived yet another rhyme and, as such, we should not let it go to waste, right?  Right?!!  I shall do something happy and mirthful next time…like examine the word “mirth.” Does anyone actually use that word anymore?  Okay, here it is, one last downer…

*****

Time has become my shadowy partner; it forever stalks my mind.

I cannot seem to get ahead of it…it insists on leaving me behind.

There’s definitely a long and short of it as I often reminisce.

I find myself asking, “When was that?” and “When was this?”

The same memory that was years ago can seem like yesterday.

It all depends how I think about it and calculate which way.

The parading past marches on, revealing events both good and bad.

They’re all marked by time I spent, some of it happy, some of it sad.

Now they reside in days gone by; they form my lifetime clock.

It moves relentlessly, pacing forward with every tick and every tock.

I am not the first to be plagued by time’s persistent control.

Others have tried to tame it, shame it or simply cajole

It is not to be tinkered with as it dictates now and then.

It’s not ours to manage, only to keep up with, if we can.

Oh we still use it to regulate our lives and set points along our ways.

When we’re early it just idles by…if late, it’s gone and never stays.

When younger I wasted so much of it, not feeling its grasp so tight back then.

Now it’s of the essence as I watch its every tick, wanting to know when is when.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

