NO WINGS FOR DYLAN’S FALLEN ANGELS

dylanmontage

Like many others, well maybe just a few who can remember being back in the late 60’s and not being stoned, I remember the first time I heard Bob Dylan. I could not believe that someone with such an incredibly horrible voice would even attempt to sing, let alone produce and market an entire album. Maybe I was stoned.

Well, we all know how naïve I was.  Dylan went on to become one of the major contributors to both our music and culture for many decades to come. I did grow to like him, but mainly as a writer and mainly during his first half dozen albums. After that he seemed to mumble more with each record he produced or my ears seem to clog up more. Regardless, I swear I don’t know what the hell the man was singing about because I couldn’t understand a word.

Now here we are, both Dylan and me, in 2016. In case you have a hard time telling us apart, I am the unknown starving author of a few obscure books and he’s the mega rich rock star who has released a gazillion albums and has had tons of hits.

So now I come to the point of this dissertation: Bob Dylan’s most recent album titled Fallen Angels. It’s a compilation of Dylan singing some older songs. No, not his older songs and, no, not a bunch of cover tunes from the standard classic rock library. Instead, Dylan is singing songs that other contemporary artists have also attempted in the latter years of their careers…classic songs known as the “standards” from the 40’s and 50’s–lots of stuff Sinatra did. These are songs written and composed by the likes of Hoagy Carmichael, Johnny Mercer and Sammy Cahn among others.   They are songs such as All the Way, Polka Dots and Moonbeams and It Had to be You.

To hear Bob Dylan sings these songs is as bad as bad carrie okie can get. Don’t take my word for it, go to iTunes and suffer through some of Fallen Angels to really appreciate how fallen it is. Then, if you want to hear the concept of “pop artist sings the standards” done right, check out the series of albums Linda Ronstadt did with Nelson Riddle in the 1980’s.

Okay, I don’t want to end this on a sour Dylan note, so I have to get back to the comment I made earlier. As a true song writer, he is an exceptional poet who has written one verse that has been a favorite of mine for decades. Whether or not it is drug induced, written about drugs or whatever, it’s just a great verse. It’s about escaping, getting away, or running away or, as is the case with lots of poetry, it’s whatever interpretation you want to make of it. Oddly, it’s a Dylan verse from a song he didn’t have the hit with—The Byrds did and they made it a classic: Hey Mr. Tambourine Man. Oddly even more so, it’s the final verse of the song as Dylan wrote it, but the Byrds didn’t include it in their famous version.

So I’ll forgive him for singing Young at Heart as a passing “oops” and, instead, appreciate the original, pure Bob Dylan:

Then take me disappearin’ through the smoke rings of my mind


Down the foggy ruins of time, far past the frozen leaves


The haunted, frightened trees, out to the windy beach


Far from the twisted reach of crazy sorrow


Yes, to dance beneath the diamond sky with one hand waving free

Silhouetted by the sea, circled by the circus sands


With all memory and fate driven deep beneath the waves


Let me forget about today until tomorrow

Hey Mister Tambourine Man play a song for me….

© BOB DYLAN MUSIC CO

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NO WINGS FOR DYLAN’S FALLEN ANGELS

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    Anonymous: you are definitely not alone…I can’t always understand what some artist are sing
    ing even when they aren’t mumbling like Dylan…I would say it’s an age thing but it’s always been that way for me.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Good one, Marc. English being my second language I never understood the lyrics. I am glad to hear it wasn’t only me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

