BUCKLE UP SPARKY…TIME TO VENT, PART II

windows_10-wide

Welcome to day two of my spring venting.  I have arisen from my thinking chair this season with a short list of things that are buggin’ me. Yesterday it was stainless steel appliances; today it’s the latest Microsoft Windows operating system.  Can’t say I don’t come from every angle. Anyway, I just got a new laptop and it came with Windows 10 and it has been a real joy (said sarcastically) learning its many secrets.  It took me over a week to get my e-mail working.  The support guy on the phone gave up trying.  Ultimately, I figured it out exactly the way I suggested to him which he said had nothing to do with the issue.  And the love affair with Windows 10 has continued from there…again, said sarcastically. Here’s the vent… 

2.  Windows 10 –  Okay, I admit it, I’ve have had Windows 10 for less than a month and I need to watch a few more tutorials, but it’s still something I rather not have had in the first place.   Why Microsoft has this compulsion to keep advancing its operating system until it has iterated itself into oblivion is beyond me.

Microsoft seemed to finally be on the right track with Windows xp and then some Bill Gates-wannabe convinced the company that Windows Vista was the system that would take us into the 25th century.  Instead, it wound up being Microsoft’s version of the Ford Edsel. Vista was a program that brought new meaning to the term computer crash test dummies.

Fortunately, the company realized it had produced a turkey and hustled to finally get everything in reasonable order and functioning smoothly with the release of Widows 7, a program I still have today on this very computer on which I am writing this.   But then the Microsoft tinker-toilers just couldn’t stop themselves from developing the incredibly rejected Windows 8.  The latter was so unwelcomed that I remember Dell and Hp advertising that if you ordered a new computer from them you could “Still Get Windows 7 instead of 8.”

It seems the Microsoft process is to continually develop and release new operating systems every few years and tout each one as being the pen-ultimate solution to having computer sexual climax.   Each is then prone to all kinds of glitches which are corrected with the release of dozens of updates and a series of must-have service packs to hold together the already obsolete program until the next new in-your-dreams operating system is developed.

Meanwhile, it is has been over a week, and at lest half a dozen attempts later, before I was able to load Microsoft Office onto my new laptop.  That too, took the help of a support person on the phone.  And Windows 10 is supposed to just handle all this stuff with the click on an icon.  After I loaded Office, its icon disappeared entirely from the array on the desktop. I went looking for it and could not find it or any of its components.  No, I had not watched the tutorial yet, but why should I.  In windows 7 all you do is click on the start button, then click on programs and they all come up in a list.  Why would you change that?  I had to finally google the problem just to find out where Office was hiding in Windows 10…and it wasn’t a normal process to find it.

I think consumers have had it with all this.  Why else would Microsoft be offering Windows 10 for free.  They’ve never acknowledged they even understood the concept of “free,” at least on their primary products.  Normally they would charge you another $100 or more just to get the “key” to download a new offering.  You don’t even get a copy of the program to keep for yourself anymore.

One thing’s for sure…I will try to hold onto my Windows 7 as long as I can.  While it bumps along now and then, it always gets me where I need to go and I don’t have to ask for directions on the way. Windows 10, so far, just doesn’t compute.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BUCKLE UP SPARKY…TIME TO VENT, PART II

  1. 1016Belfield says:

    Margie & Almost Iowa….I will have to check this out…maybe it will reverse the aging process I’m going through!

    Like

  2. Marc Kuhn says:

    Margie and Almost Iowa: I will have to check this out…maybe it will reverse the aging process I’m going through!

    Like

  3. Almost Iowa says:

    Hey Maggie, thanks for mentioning LibreOffice. I have been using OpenOffice for years and have become frustrated by the frequent crashes (mostly in Base and Impress), I like the fact that LibreOffice has a quicker release cycle and a more robust community support.

    Like

  4. Margie says:

    I had to buy a new computer last spring (as in ‘had to’, not ‘wanted to’) and quickly upgraded it from Windows 8 to 10. Thankfully, I found 10 was more like 7 than 8 was, and it has been a relatively easy transition.
    Microsoft Office, however, upsets me to no end. Their new ‘subscription model’ bothers me, as does their never ending upgrades that make the software more and more complicated. I’m switching to open source freeware, such as LibreOffice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

