BUCKLE UP SPARKY…TIME TO VENT

Upset and angry boy with steam coming from his ears and arms folded concept for anger, frustration and mischief

Now that spring is here and a lot of the rain has finally let up, I am back to sitting in my thinking chair on the backyard patio. I must have had a negative winter because my thinking was exclusively about one picky complaint after another. So for the next three postings, unless some stupid positive thing happens, I am going to get things off my chest. I have narrowed all my angst down to three items that are buggin’ me. You probably have at least that many too. So, here’s my list and if you couldn’t care less then go click on some other crappy blog and hang out there for the next few days because I need to vent. Okay, here we go…

VENT #1:  Stainless Steel Appliances – What the hell is all this rage the past several years that insists a kitchen just isn’t a real kitchen unless all the appliances are stainless steel? Well, we bought a stainless steel stove and the first thing I learned was that stainless steel is anything BUT stainless!   If you have never had stainless steel, count yourself appropriately out of style, but count yourself lucky.

Stainless steel is a magnet to smears, smudges, steaks and just about anything else—oh yes, fingerprints! It loves to show off fingerprints. And if this still doesn’t convince you to go with some other covering for your appliances, you should know that all the stains that accumulate on stainless steel do not remove with a simple application of a damp sponge or a spritz of Windex. Nope, they only cause more smears.

So what to do? Spend more money, of course! You need to buy cleaners that are made especially for stainless steel. And get this, like the Karate Kid, you just can’t wipe on/wipe off this stuff. Noooooo, you have to finish it off with strokes that go in the same lateral direction of the stainless steel finish, otherwise you get stainless steel cleaner smudges.

Let me tellyuh…stainless steel is the most over-rated finish on the market. If you don’t believe me, visit some appliance stores and you will see that some new finishes and colors are slowly beginning to show up. Do you think the manufacturers would be doing this if they didn’t know something?    So the next time you are in the market for new appliances and still need to be trendy, look for these news finishes…that’s my stainless piece of advice for the day.

Tomorrow’s Vent:  Windows 10!

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

