HERE WE GO AGAIN…

USA American vector grunge flag isolated on white background.

All of a sudden it is a strange time to be living in America.

I sense the entire country is on the brink of hysteria.

When I was a child in school we practiced for the bomb

As the cold war raged there was never a sense of calm.

But that went away when a great evil wall came down.

And our world once more seemed to find its ground.

Sure there were times I witnessed that were quite scary,

The Kennedys, Martin Luther King, Reagan escaping barely.

I read and watched the drama unfold at a place called Watergate

And felt the sadness on Julie’s face witnessing her father’s fate.

I’ve seen people gassed, beaten, hosed and even beheaded

Children abused and living in poor housing where the paint is still leaded.

As a journalist I covered marches and protests, all seemingly meaningful,

But despite the size and noise, most ended with results usually negligible.

There is nothing that television can keep from us anymore

No matter how ugly, how vulgar, how much to abhor.

How awful, how sad it was the day the twin towers fell

An inescapable memory, our longest day in hell.

And as I’ve watched these things through my personal lens

It is difficult to reach out to some, in attempts to make amends.

It’s frightening what’s going on in our country right now.

I want to believe in the process but it seems to have run afoul.

Each day something or someone new rises to stir us once more

Into a frenzy that mirrors events and people from times before.

But we don’t learn and instead grasp the handle and prime the pumps

That pour out hostilities in a political game now with a card that Trumps.

I want to overlook it all, hope it will fade and pass us by, but aaah,

All of a sudden it is a strange time, again, to be living in America.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in SERIOUSLY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

