WINTERS COMES TO FLORIDA

Couple at mountains in winter, Meribel, Alps, France

Here in South Florida, winter was just a tad bit late getting started this year.  Officially, it began exactly one month ago today, back on December 21st.   We don’t pay much attention to that date in this part of the country where weather is king and the tags on the rear of our cars proclaim our residency in “The Sunshine State.”

People come to Florida, especially at this time of year, to bask in our warm, sunny weather, enjoy the balmy breezes that the palm trees are willing to share, and to dip their toes and eventually everything attached to them into the bath water they call the Atlantic Ocean.  That is sort of what we are all about.  No one in their right frame of mind would consider doing likewise in, let’s say July or August.  That’s when it gets darn hot in South Florida.  It’s the kind of heat that sets up a wall that you can literally feel yourself walking into when you leave the cool confines of your air-conditioned home.

So those of us who live here year-round pay our dues in the summer months and that entitles us to wallow in the joy of winter in Florida.  While we are busy doing that, we sure do get a kick out of watching a good number of our fellow Americans scraping ice off their windshields and shoveling snow from their sidewalks.  In fact we get a good tee-hee moment out of their misery.   I know, it’s kind of perverted.

Winter in our house, at least as far as I’m concerned, commenced this year of January 19th.  That’s the official date because that’s when I first turned on the heater in the house.  Mind you, it was on for only a few hours.  Yep, it was a frigid 69 degrees when I looked at the thermostat in the middle of the night.  I had been awaken by a shivering right leg that had snaked its way out from the sauna beneath my comforter.  Right away I noticed a nip in the air that said hot chocolate, wooly sweaters, and chopped fire wood…well, those are the images that come to mind on a cold day in South Florida.  Thank God, we don’t get many of them.

*****

It’s never to cold to extend a warm thanks to those who have recently visited marc’s blog…your support, indeed, warms my heart, not to mention my toes.  Here they are: Ian Cleary, Mike Alton, Gerald Brownout, Zoe Kuhn Williams, Ron Carmean, Evolutionary Mind, Dan Pryor, Antoinette Prato Shreffler, Unbolt, Rich McMillan, Tom J. Stewart, Dave Graveline, Bridgette McVay, Camie Dunbar, Jay Howard Gershberg, John Caras, Dave LaMont, Natalia Blackie, Terry Schreiber, Buck McWilliams, Sara Hornbeck, Andie Bicho, Miriam Schulman-Kirk, Teri  Griffin, Ronna Woulfe Gershberg, Audrey Winter Driben, Mike Fuller, Tom Duffy, Lori Shepard Grasso.

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WINTERS COMES TO FLORIDA

  1. That’s OK. It took me a long time to make up my mind to write (actually, re-write) SINK RATE. I’m just happy that you are reading it, thanks.

    Like

  2. Marc Kuhn says:

    Mike Fuller: We are akin in many ways, it seems. I know of the joy of arthritis and your mom’s appreciation of warmth. My LLBean coat is light-weight but magically defends me against freezing to death. I have even slept in it during one visit home a few winters back. No one else but me seemed to be bothered by the sub-zero temperature in the house. I try not to venture north in the winter months anymore. I am learning of your PA roots, much of which I am familiar with, as I read Sink Rate…but please give me lots of time to complete it since other cruel calamities of aging prevent me from reading too many pages in one sitting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Child Bride and I used to roll our eyes at my mom (she moved from PA to FL in 1965) when she walked around with a sweater on if the temperature dropped below 80. She has passed on now and is likely having a good heavenly laugh at us now that we have “reached maturity” and the joy of arthritis. I don’t know where they sell those bulky “Chinese Army” coats but they are certainly popular here in Wrinkleland (just a little north of you) when that cold air sweeps in from the north and dips the outside air into the frigid 70’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

