A MOMENT PROFOUND

Dnen Adam

Every once in a while—be grateful it’s not often—I have this need to say something profound. It’s all part of my exercise routine, the goal of which is to win a Pulitzer. Hey, you have to have goals even if they are outrageous. Otherwise your life would be stuck with nothing, like an empty bowl of ice cream. Oh God, the thought of no ice is depressing. Now I’ve become depressingly profound. Okay, here goes…

 

A Poem…          A Place to Go

I’ve got a place to go but I don’t know exactly where.
There’s no sign on the road, or map to get me there.
All I know is that I can’t stand still because things move on
And I’ve got no choice but to be there or else be gone.
No, I don’t know when or how, or if I must pay a fare.
All I know is I’ve got a place to go and I’ve got to be there.

Maybe I’ll have to travel far away to some strange land.
Will it be exciting or just a trek through someplace bland?
I wonder if I’ll have to climb a mountain or cross a river
Will it be so hot I’ll sweat; or so bitter cold I’ll shiver?
No, I don’t know why or where or how much risk I’ll dare.
All I know is I’ve got a place to go and I’ve got to be there.

I suppose I’ll meet all kinds of new people along the way.
Some will stop and chat; others won’t give the time of day.
But I’m sure the good folks I meet will outnumber the bad
They’ll be kind and generous and for that I’ll be glad.
No, I don’t why the hurry; I’ll just say goodbye, take care.
All I know is I’ve got a place to go and I’ve got to be there.

I’ll worry what happens when I finally complete my trip.
Will it be all surreal or something I can actually grip?
I’ve been warned the end is never what you expect.
Whatever it is, it’s something I’ll just have to accept.
No, there’s no hint what I’ll see. I’m sure I’ll simply stare.
All I know is I’ve got a place to go and I’ve got to be there.

                                  *****

And to finish up, here are some folks who stopped by marc’s blog recently, to whom I owe my profound thanks!  …Margie, Ron Carmean, hamidyazdani, beautybeyondbones, BreAnna, Camie Dunbar, Natalia Blackie, Wizard, Julius, Lori Shepard Grasso, Ronna Gershberg, Kathleen Neiman, Rita Petrushansky-Mastroni, Tom Stewart and Ed Nowak

*****

 

 

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER!, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

