UH-OH…SOMEBODY LEFT MY CAGE DOOR OPEN!

Today’s posting is sort of a stew. There are a few little items on my mind and I think I will just dump them out on the floor and if you see one you like, help yourself.

First off, this item: “I can’t believe it’s Christmas already. Wasn’t it only about three or four months ago that we were taking down the decorations?” How many times do you hear someone saying this at this time of year…maybe you’ve said it yourself.  And now here comes the follow-up: “When I was a kid it took forever for Christmas to get here.”  You’ve heard that one too.

monsterkidThese are the notorious holiday phrases I was saying to myself as I was in the garage today unpacking the Christmas lights I dutifully drape on the bushes in front of the house each year along with other holiday paraphernalia. I do think we are in some kind of time warp that is speeding us up. I used to think it was those people in the marketing department. You can’t trust them. They will have you thinking and doing whatever they wish. But it’s not them. It’s the big kid.

See, some day we will turn around and see this giant twenty story kid sitting right behind us with some kind of transformer or controller in his hand. He’s got an intense look on his face as he turns up the dial or pushes the toggle forward.  As he does, you can sense time is speeding up and the earth is spinning faster. This is why Christmas comes so quickly these days. It’s this giant kid and his controller. No, I haven’t actually seen him, but I know he is there. He has to be. There is no other explanation for why I am unpacking Christmas decorations I just packed up a couple of months ago.

Jake4Next item: My good friend Baseball Ron had a heartbreak this week. He and Jake (that’s his beloved dog on the right) were returning from a walk when Jake suddenly collapsed. They rushed him to the hospital and he was diagnosed with a fatal form of cancer that has been silently plotting its evilness inside him for some time. Ron and his wife Donna were left with no wiggle room. They stayed with Jake for a bit and then the Vet put him down. One moment Ron was taking a normal walk with his friend Jake…and the next, he’s forced into an emotional nightmare. I went through a similar experience with our six-year-old golden retriever twenty years ago and it was devastating.   It is a numbing moment when you lose a pet who is so much a part of the family. Nothing any of us say will make the pain go away. Only time can do that so let’s hope the healing process goes quickly for Ron and Donna.

ANCHORRED10-4Next item: And, of course, there has to be a mention of “the book” …the one titled Anchor that I have been working on forever and telling you over and over again that it will be available any day now. Well, I have ordered its second proof. I was not happy with the first one. I made corrections. The second one will not arrive for another week. With that in mind, I have decided to go ahead and publish this month but postpone its marketing launch until January. Having spent a good number of years in the marketing and promotion arena I learned the hard way that it is not a good idea to embark upon a major promotion this close to Christmas. People’s minds and pocketbooks are elsewhere this time of year. It is best to bypass December. Hence, I shall weigh Anchor and launch in January.

And finally:  Is it me, or are many of you also turning unusually aggressive as we suffer through more and more terrorists shootings that have taken place this year?  I realize Americans should always attempt to support their President, but Mr. Obama has been a disappointment.  I sense no urgency or outrage in his WHITEHOUSEdemeanor.  I have a right to criticize; I voted for him twice.  I rarely get political in my blog, but times have gotten downright scary.  It is not out of the question that we as a society will evolve into one that does not leave home because of the danger lurking almost everywhere we may want to go:  the movies, shopping malls, supermarkets, sporting events, school…it goes on and on.  We will become a nation of homebound people who live our lives inside our homes, using the Internet to do all those things we used to go outside for.  Think about it.  It is not that outrageous of a concept.   I am not an alarmist by any stretch of  the  imagination, but this terrorist situation, I think, requires a “nip in the bud” attitude by this time and we, as a nation, should be demanding all free nations to unite and just forcefully, massively and quickly wipe these monsters out.  And if the citizens of a country that allows these people to exist within its borders don’t do anything about it,  there should be no sympathy for any of them.  It is no difference from being an accessory to murder.  This is World War II all over again.  As before, there is a an insane monster wanting to kill us all.  And, meanwhile, we’ve had not one, but several Pearl Harbors.  Why aren’t we declaring war?   Okay, I’ll step down off the soapbox.

*****

 

 

 

 

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in SERIOUSLY, Uncategorized, WHATEVER!, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to UH-OH…SOMEBODY LEFT MY CAGE DOOR OPEN!

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    Mike Fuller Author: I’m okay with the backend stuff, been doing lots of that all my life. I suppose you have too with all the reports and paperwork that goes along with police work. As to my voting record, I cannot remember the last time I voted FOR someone as opposed to voting AGAINST a candidate I knew I didn’t want to win. And I don’t see anybody convincing me they are the one this time around. That ocean front in Arizona may be of interest!

    Like

  2. Sadly, all of us who are dog people have a Jake or two or three in our lives. Dutch, Dusty, Molly, and Maggie have all brought bundles of happiness and joy into our family and are never forgotten.
    Book releases are such a thrill but require all that backend work we don’t seem to think about when we are trying to make sense of the story and create something very special. Tedious is a word that comes to mind. But having just lived through it and another coming next March, I am not deterred and continue to pound away at my keyboard on the current project. Oh, and with your voting record, my friend Vinny Noneck has some oceanfront property in Arizona I can get you into.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rcarmean says:

    Thank you, Marc, for your mention of Jake. We did 3 stories on him in your blog. Your kindness is definitely appreciated. If you could give him a treat, he’d thank you himself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

