A HERON ON MY ROOF

heron6

This morning there was a heron on my roof.

My first thought was that it was some kind of spoof.

But no, he definitely was up there, that’s for sure.

I’ve seen them by the canal but never on the roof before.

I ran to get my camera, hoping he wouldn’t take flight.

And there he was when I returned, much to my delight.

This was not the famous tall blue heron nor either the white.heron4

Mine on the roof was the smaller heron they call tri-color.

A bird of bountiful shades making others appear much duller.

He arrived accompanied by a mate; she landed low, he went high.

They appeared to be squabbling, both of them staring eye to eye.

He ruffled his feathers, stood up tall and stretched his neck.

She’d took off and flew low but straight until just a speck.

He seemed to care not at all and started strutting up the roof

I watched him make his way to the peak then disappear, poof!

Heron5I do not know what was on his mind, where he went, nor which way.

But this morning there was a heron on my roof and it made my day.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A HERON ON MY ROOF

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    Leonor L. Torres: you were right the first time–it’s almost poetry. I can contrive the rhymes but there’s lots of other issues like meter and meaning that I sort of stretch. Frost definitely would not take my road…but thanks for the compliment!

    Mike Fuller: If it had been a stork I would have shot it with a gun and not a camera…my stork days are far far over. Been there, done that, definitely too old to do it again!

    Like

  2. LEONOR says:

    What am I saying???!!! It IS poetry. I like it.

    Like

  3. Looks like a stork. And you know what that means.

    Like

  4. Leonor L Torres says:

    It is almost like poetry. Lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

