Of Mouse and Man

logitech-mx-master

You will know that I have finally settled into my new iMac when you stop seeing postings about it here on my blog.  So guess what happened now on the way to AppleLand?  As most of you know by now, wonderwife Rosemarie bought me this state of the art/nation/world iMac for my birthday last May.  It’s the big Rolls Royce model that comes with the 27” 5k Retina Monitor.  Wow, you can see every zit on Taylor Swift’s chin.  No, don’t think about stealing it.  You will have to go through Bill the Dog’s knurly teeth first, not to mention the ex-marine with the three automatic weapons I pay to stand next to the monitor 24/7.

Since May, I spent these past four months attempting to transition from decades of PC habits to learning a whole new set of Apple Macincantations (bet you stumble say’n that word!).

Now, after all this time, I still cannot give up the PC…just yet.  I am sure many will say I just haven’t gotten the knack (or is that kmac?) of using the new computer.  But here’s the issue.  There are few Mac website producing programs for dummies that dummies like me need to make websites.  I have six websites that I have made from scratch and maintain regularly.  They were all produced with a program on the PC that won’t work on the Mac.  So I have been spending a lot of money and time trying to find a Mac program that I can switch over to.

Mac aficionados will tell you that RapidWeaver is the most fantastic program ever produced for making websites on a Mac.  I bought it; plus several of the “addons” you have to buy if you want to do anything creative like draw a box or use a special font beyond the crappy dozen that come with the program; plus I bought some tutorials but they expired(!) before I got to watch them all.  Then, I finally bought an entire course of tutorials and went through a good 15 or more and I still could not get one entire web page produced that didn’t have something wrong with it.  I spent three weeks trying to learn things that I was doing on the PC program the first day I brought it home without, I might add, looking at one tutorial.

In that my blood pressure, not to mention my feelings of inadequacies and low self-esteem, was for sure leading to a heart attack over all this, I decided I will simply have TWO computers.  Yeah, I know, S T U P I D !    I will continue to use my PC for my websites.  Everything else has been transferred over to the iMac….well, most everything.

I am humble enough (note mention of low self-esteem above) to still think all these Mac issues are self-made.  Therefore, I will continue to attempt to learn RapidWeaver…but just not rapidly.  Maybe someday if I can learn to draw a simple object and put a shadow or glow behind it without having to spend 49 more dollars for an “addon,” I shall transfer my websites over to the iMac and once again become a one-computer person.

In the meantime, my desk is cluttered with two of everything: two monitors, two keyboards and, until yesterday, two mice.  I just became a one-mouse man!  I found a new really fancy-schmancy Logitect wireless mouse that will function on up to three computers at the same time, both PC and Mac together.  As you can see in the illustration above, it’s a real beauty with a radical design that even Mickey would be impressed with.  It’s really cool.  So, now I have one mouse and with the push of a button I can easily switch between my two computers.  So, finally, one thing has gone right during this great PC/Mac migration…I just hope it’s not a mousetrap.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Of Mouse and Man

  1. Anonymous says:

    Margie….I looked into that and the process was very involved, at least at a time when I’m suffering brain meltdown trying to learn the mac and get my websites back under control…I will revisit it all down the road because it would be a good alternative…thanks for the suggestion.

    Like

  2. Margie says:

    Personally, I think you have the best of both worlds. A PC is really good at some stuff and not so good at others. Same for the MAC.

    You can also probably dual boot your MAC (put a Windows operating system on it) and then run your Windows program on your MAC.

    Like

  3. rcarmean says:

    To retrieve some of your expenses, could you create a TV series based on your PC to Mac adventures, perhaps entitled: Marc and Mac? With another book(s) still to come, you’ll be using your computer(s) more in the future. It’d be nice to at least break even on the costs for your projects.

    Like

Leave a Reply

