WRITING EVERY DAY…OR NOT

YELTODO

Today’s blog is pretty much targeted to writers.  It deals with process of which there are many and they’re all debated constantly.  What triggered my posting today was one that I read by writer Amanda N. Butler.  I follow her blog and her latest posting has to do with the oft-given advice that one should write every day.  You might give it a read and have your own response.  Here’s the link:  https://arsamandica.wordpress.com/2015/08/22/on-writing-every-day/

I find it difficult to write every day unless I have a project underway.  My blog keeps me writing several times a week, if that counts.  I am more of a “purposeful” writer.  I’ve always been pragmatic by nature.   I need the basic idea reasonably complete in my head before I begin to write about it.  I don’t outline, but I do a lot of research on anything that requires authenticity or accurate description.  Then, I simply sit down and begin.  At this point I may well write every day…or not.

I must have “stuff” ready to be written.  I just can’t say, “okay, I will sit down now and do my daily writing and then spit out a few hundred words.  I need stuff.

Amanda’s posting is very timely because I just yesterday finished the first draft of my sixth book.  If you have written anything complex and of length, then you know the euphoria one feels when that last sentence is finally in place.

This latest book was more like the first than sixth.  I have never struggled so much with a manuscript and the battle went on longer than any one previous.  Something else unusual occurred too:  I skipped around.  Usually I begin with chapter one and plow on through chronologically to the final chapter.  This latest project started normally at chapter one but got stuck at twelve…so stuck I stopped.  I even wrote about the dilemma on my blog (see Vaults on the right of this page, look up 6/10/15: All of a Sudden Writing is… work).

I knew how things were to play out in the final section, so instead of continuing to do nothing, I went ahead and wrote the final third of the book even though it had no middle.  Then I went back and filled in the void.  And you know what?  I was glad I did it this way because after doing the final section, things naturally came to light that had to be planted in the middle.  So the vacancies filled up without much difficulty.

That said, I now have to read the entire draft start to finish and see if it is, indeed, a book.  I suspect it will turn out either one way or the other:  it’ll flow surprisingly well and make a lot of sense…or it will be a jigsaw puzzle with pieces jammed together that really aren’t meant to fit.

So to respond to Amanda’s query, I suppose I will continue writing every day—at this stage proofing and rewriting—until my book is ready for the printer.  After that, I will go dormant once again until the next idea unburies itself and I figure out what to do with it.  How long will I hibernate?  Depends on how dark it is inside the cave.

*****

Here’s one writing session that’s easy…thank you’s to those who have recently stopped by marc’s blog and left a “like” …and they include:  Celia Fitzgerald, Rita Petrushansky-Mastroni, Tracy Clark, Mike Fuller, Ron Carmean and Ellen of wwellend who is backpacking Europe while I’m stuck here,

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WRITING EVERY DAY…OR NOT

  1. rcarmean says:

    Congrats on finishing your book –except, of course, for a little fine tuning. Your blog readers “like” your entries about your writing. They will love this good news, just as I do. I hope you like “fine tuning” a book as much as my Father did fine tuning his cars. If the cave gets too dark, let me know. I’ll help you find a light switch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

