MY CRYSTAL BALL IS CLEARER NOWADAYS…

crystal ball

My perspective has changed and I don’t like it. There is a definite re-direction in my attitude when it comes to anything having to do with the future. I can hear some of those close to me saying, “Okay, Marc, here you go again with being negative and looking at the glass half-empty.” But this is a little different…I think.  It has to do with age and how you approach the process of going from being an active adult with a family and career to watch over to being retired with no more alarm clock in the morning and no kids to worry about—at least young kids who need you or your resources to get through the day.

After a few years of retirement, along with birthdays you no longer want to celebrate, life seems to move you into landscape where you’ve never been before.  In my younger years I was always thinking about the future and what I needed to do to get there.  There would be plans made, at least mentally if not listed out and activated.  There would be goals set and materials goods sought after.

The parameters are different now.  I saw a tool the other day that was pretty cool and normally I would have bought it with the thinking that it would come in handy one day.  Well, my tool days are pretty much over. I am not prone to spend a day fixing something anymore. That’s why I have a home fix-it insurance policy.  That’s why I live in a community that cuts my grass and trims my hedges and takes care of the property.  So as I fondled this tool in my hands—yes men appreciate a good tool and will fondle it—I thought, “What the hell am I ever going to do with this tool. I will never use it.”  So I unfondled it and put it back in the rack.  Last year we bought a new car and part of the criteria was the fact that this would probably be our last car and we wanted to make sure it was what we needed. Strange.

This is how I am thinking about a lot of things lately. Do I need it? What will I do with it? Am I spending money I don’t have for something I don’t need?  I don’t even look at things that used to attract my attention. Lots of advertising has absolutely no role in my life anymore because the products or services are things I absolutely don’t need or want these days.

This blog, along with some other things I’m writing, have become my motivation for getting up in the morning. I am glad that I have a few projects I’m working on. Plus I have a bunch of websites to take care of and I help my wife with one she has for the jewelry she makes. So I have enough to do, plus I add in the things we all wind up doing: the dishes, the laundry, keeping the alligators out of living room and the never-ending errands here and there and runs to the supermarket.

But what it is, is that the future as it used to be, is gone. The future now is pretty set in place and not hard to predict.  I just have to hope I get through it with as little discomfort—physical and mental—as possible. The upside? I at least know there will still be ice cream.

*****

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER!, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MY CRYSTAL BALL IS CLEARER NOWADAYS…

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    Charlotte McDonnel: Ah, 30. I like the 30s because you are old enough to be considered a true adult, yet young enough to have lots of energy and act like a kid and get away with it. However, I am not sure I would want to be 30 in 2015 because these are not quite the good times that I experience in my 30’s and there are lot of things to worry about. Through all the phases of life I have found the one constant but ever-elusive and unachieveable element is peace of mind. There is always something blocking it. It is the provervial “it is what it is” factor. Good luck, Charlotte, don’t worry, be happy, carry on and all those lofty things we have to hold onto to make it through…and, oh yeah, have some ice cream too!

    Like

  2. Charlotte McDonnell says:

    Some of those attitudes could be useful for those of us not yet retired! Yet, it is sobering to see the tradeoff — a freedom that comes with a different set of restrictions than anticipated. Every stage of life seems to have its tradeoffs. My infant daughter has no financial worries or responsibilities, but she also has really limited freedom. At 30-cough, I’m somewhere in between.

    Like

  3. Marc Kuhn says:

    Mike Fuller: My “bestest” tools are ones leftover from my father’s workbench (he built that and it was a beauty)…I still use an old honest-to-goodness horsehair paint brush that was his. It’s very full, indestructable and the bristles are wrapped together with a piece of thick leather. It’s never been in paint…always been used to brush things off (the old brush-off I guess). It’s gotta be damn near 100 years old! Oh-oh, you just gave me an idea for the blog…stay tuned!

    Like

  4. Gee, I guess you had to dig around in that old tool box and pull out that paint stained, just a bit rusty with one piece broken off hammer, instead of the shiny new one at Ace Hardware (they have almost everything there!) that you put back to hit this nail squarely on the head.

    Like

  5. Marc Kuhn says:

    Almost Iowa: Overall, I am more than happy being retired, especially not having to work for someone else and having time to do what I want to do. It’s just this attitude I’ve developed about planning for the future–it’s a whole different perspective–not quite as fun, but still challenging. Thanks for the comment. Keep busy and active!!

    Like

  6. Almost Iowa says:

    After a few years of retirement, along with birthdays you no longer want to celebrate, life seems to move you into landscape where you’ve never been before.

    I retired last year and it is turning out to be everything that I wanted it to be. We will see about the new directions. Looking forward to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

