TAYLOR CANNOT TELL A LIE…SHE CHOPPED DOWN THE APPLE TREE!

Song lyrics illustrated in this posting are excerpted from songs written by Taylor Swift
 Taylorrrr

Oh Taylor, Taylor, Taylor…what have you done?  You have cut the big Apple to the core.  It is but mere sauce in your hands.  And you’ve left it no alternative but to shake shake shake, shake it off.

Someday I’ll be living in a big old city

And all you’re ever gonna be is mean

Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hurt me

And all you’re ever gonna be is mean

Why you gotta be so mean?

So by now you have probably heard all about how Taylor Swift took to social media and in the matter of a tweet here and a tumblr there, she was able to do in just a few hours what some of her musical colleagues had tried to accomplish for months—specifically, bring the mighty Apple tree timbering down in a thunderous crescendo that everyone heard the woodwinds blow loud and clear.

Are we out of the woods yet?

Are we out of the woods yet?

Are we out of the woods yet?

Are we out of the woods?

Are we in the clear yet?

Are we in the clear yet?

Are we in the clear yet?

In the clear yet, good.

If you’ve hung around this blog for any amount of time, you know I’m a big Taylor Swift fan.  Have been for a long time (click on the archives for my posting, Passion, Writing & Taylor Swift on January 9, 1013).  I know I know, I’m too old and she’s too young.  But I’ve been through all that.  My lust for her centers on her smarts and the incredible talent that she is at such an incredible young age.  Not only a prolific writer of songs that whiplash your internal organs but they are songs fully scripted for the most part—not just a la la la or baby baby baby.   Meanwhile she’s got business savvy that watches over her bountiful harvests as if a farmer who dares to wear white overalls and leaves leaf eaters far behind her in a cloud of plow dust.  And here’s the point:  she does it all with class.

I’ve got that good girl faith and a tight little skirt

And when we go crashing down, we come back every time

‘Cause we never go out of style, we never go out of style.

Apple had previously said it would not pay royalties to the artists providing the product it would use during the trial period of its new digital music service.  Taylor, via tumblr.com responded:  “We don’t ask you for free iPhones,” she wrote. “Please don’t ask us to provide you with our music for no compensation.”  Apple had heard all the arguments before from plenty of people in the music industry, especially the young, the new, the unheard of—all of whom stood to lose life-sustaining income if the big App refused to pay for work, their work, performed.  But Apple didn’t listen to them.

So it’s gonna be forever

Or it’s gonna go down in flames

You can tell me when it’s over

If the high was worth the pain.

Apple listened to Taylor.  She’s a formidable force.  Take time to learn about her; she’s a fascinating celebrity…my vote for Person of The Year for Time Magazine’s next annual issue.

It’s okay if you quibble with her voice or think her mannerisms are a bit quirky or her strut too strutty…it’s beyond all that that counts.  She gets it.  So few celebrities do.  And that’s why, with the quiet roar of her social media that reaches millions, she can bring a giant corporation to its senses to do what is right.

Can’t you see that I’m the one who understands you

Been here all along so why can’t you seeapple

You belong with me.

No prob, Taylor, I’m with you.

*****

The following folks don’t belong with me, but I welcome the time they recently spent visiting my blog and I am grateful they did:   Tonysbologna, Ron Carmean,  Roni Komie, Mike Fuller, Margie of Curating Serendipity.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TAYLOR CANNOT TELL A LIE…SHE CHOPPED DOWN THE APPLE TREE!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Roni Komi…hope you luck out and get tickets and not have to sell the house to do it!

    Like

  2. Roni says:

    I love her too, Marc. My granddaughters have seen her live but not me yet!😢 and we are trying to get tickets for her next performance here but she is THE hottest performer in the world right now. A definite genius in every way! I totally agree with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

