ANTI-SOCIAL…

SOCMEDCOLLAGE

Oh God, once again I was out back on the patio with a cup of decaf after dinner sitting in my thinking chair.  And what was I…well, here we go:

In our society there seems to be no refuge from someone always attempting to sell us something.  Social media, as revolutionary as it may appear, is just another venue over which hangs the usual “Sale Today” sign.  It is sad to me that the majority of those who attempt to “socialize” with you via the almighty Internet really have no personal interest in you beyond the number of almighty dollars you have in your bank account.  And, any information which leads to access to that money honey hole becomes the primary prize on which hackers keep their eyes, or in this case, their mouse clicks.

To this day I am not ashamed to admit that I do not understand much of social media.  Yes, I see where it is an outlet for many who heretofore had none…none at least to use for communicating to others and expressing themselves.  Hell, I write a new post for this blog three-to-four times a week and I have kept that up for well over two years.  But I will hasten to explain that I do it for two reasons:  one is that it serves as a discipline to help sharpen my writing skills and, two, if it brings attention to me as an author it may result in sales of my books.  See!!!!  I am as much a whore as those I am criticizing here.  Although as patronizing as it sounds, I am to a great, if not greater extent, more interested in winning over your approval as a worthy author than I am in thinking I’ll ever get rich…but that humble conflict is measured only by number of books sold so round and round goes the social circle.

Consequently, all this socializing, to me, is significantly unsociable.  Twitter is an excellent case in point.  I must be stupid because I do not understand twitter and what makes it tick…or twit.  Most of what I read on it is nonsense or a pitch, either disguised or blatant.  The pitch is often motivated by the desire for sales or for publicity.   Both are the same since the intent of the latter is ultimately…sales.

Let’s look at my experience with Twitter.  Every one of my postings on this blog automatically appears on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Linkedin, Goodreads, Google, and I’ve lost track where else.  Usually it is only the first few lines that appear and then there is a link to the entire master blog page on the WordPress host site.  I used to do a custom tweet for each posting, assuming I wrote a better “tease” to attract readers that Twitter did by merely excerpting the first x-number of characters they extracted from my opening paragraph.  But that was short-lived because it was more trouble than it was worth.

I am supposedly following 49 fellow twitters (or is it tweeters?) and 50-some are following me.  Those numbers come from 500+ tweets I’ve authored over the past couple of years.  Truth be told, I just went to Twitter to check those numbers and other than yesterday I haven’t been to the site all year.  It’s not part of my life until, of course, someone wants my money.  Yesterday, for example, I got an e-mail that a nice lady pictured with her dog signed on as a follower to me on Twitter.  As I try to do with anybody who extends a cyber-tap my way, I send a thank you note.  But do I keep it a simple thank you?  Noooo!  I am compelled to show the person I took an interest in him/her.  So I always check the person out.  This lady was into holistic living and wholesome eating.  I thanked her for deciding to follow me and told her I was returning the follow because I noted her healthful lifestyle would set a good example for me to continue to battle my ill-fed waistline.  That was all I said.  Actually, given the stupid restriction Twitter mandates on the length of anything you have to say, that’s all I had space for.  Well, I did not really have to say more.  Today my e-mail and my Twitter account have been intruded upon by a number of entities who want to be a follower, be a friend, be a pal or whatever.  All of them represent some kind of wholesome healthy food or vitamin or fat-reducing product.  Do you think all they want from me is to be sociable?  Nuff said.

If one is to be social with someone, a prerequisite, at least for me, is that the intent is sincere and comes with no hidden agenda, no strings attached and no deceit.  “Social” to me is an exchange of friendship or camaraderie, not dollars.  It is an honest link or connection made among human beings.  The problem with all this new social media—and  I know I sound high and mighty here having just gotten up out of my thinking chair—is that too few of us can socialize in lower case… because too many of us insist on spelling social with a capital $.

-*****

BREAKING NEWS!  …I have been humbled.  If you want to read a hilarious posting on the “Three Douchiest Things People Post on Social Media” then you gotta hook up with Tonysbologna..it’s well worth the time and, hey if you’re at work, what else meaningful do you have to do anyway?   Here’s the link:  

http://tonysbologna.com/2015/06/09/top-three-douchiest-things-people-post-on-social-media-part-one/

*****

Meanwhile, a very sociable thank you goes out from me to those who have recently stopped by marc’s blog and left a like, a comment or maybe something to eat…and they are:  Jay Michaels,  Jodie Llewellyn, Mike Fuller, Ron Carmean, and Margie of Curating Serendipity,

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

