UPDATE ON THE GREAT COMPUTER CHANGEOVER

Cartoon Illustration from JasonWhatever.co.uk — © 2002-2007 – Whatever Enterprises, Limited

cartoon-computerframe

Spoiler Alert: Today’s posting is a rant. If you do not like people ranting and whining, then I suggest you scroll down below into memory lane and read one of my previous postings. There are over 300 to choose from! That said, here is today’s rant…

I think I’ve said it before, but I have decided that I am not capable of living without a computer. I really think that. If I didn’t have a computer I believe I would go into CW, computer withdrawal. I’d probably suffer all the normal reactions: sweats, trembling, twitching mouse finger, excessive salivating…all that stuff. I’d stare at the wall for hours waiting for an error message to appear. No kidding, I’m hooked that much. If a burglar came into the house I’d beg him to take anything but the computer. I’d bribe him with things like the dog and cat. In fact, I’d incentivize the pets somehow; give them special added value. I’d help him gather up the flat screen TVs if he wanted. And there are always a few kids hanging around. If he didn’t like the selection, I’d get him another to choose from. But he can’t have the computer.

So currently with two computers going at one time, you would think I would be in Gigahertz heaven. NOT! You cannot imagine what I am going through trying to transition from an old, loaded-to-the-megapixels, limp-along PC to a brand new state-of-the-art iMAC. Can you say

“i n t i m i d a t i o n?”

I have so many things to switch over I hardly know what to attack first. I need a computer to sort it all out. Wait, that would give me three computers. Bad idea. I have this blog and all its accouterments to move over from one system to the other; I have six website I have to totally rebuild because the program I’ve been using isn’t Mac-friendly. So I went out and bought a new web program and I have to learn how it works before I can begin rebuilding and moving the websites.

Then there are the issues with Photoshop which I use frequently. My edition is about 4-5 versions back, which makes it an antique by PS standards. Plus, my copy has been corrupted and it won’t even load on the PC anymore. Photoshop can run as much as a thousand bucks. I just bought this iMac. I don’t have any more money left in my computer budget…nor the ice cream budget come to think of it.

Meanwhile, all I’ve heard since I first came out and greeted the folks in the delivery room is how I N T U I T I V E Macs are. I’ve had a computer wired to my body for almost 30 years now and I know about the concept of a computer being intuitive…and this iMAC ain’t intuitive. But that’s okay. I just have to learn all its little idiosyncrasies and that’s going to take a little longer than I anticipated.

So here I sit, staring at two computers on my desk. I can’t say goodbye to the PC yet because most of my “active” work remains on it. Right next to it sits big mama with its 27” monitor, slowly, eventually taking over my life. Consequently, I have two keyboards and two mice. Sometimes I forget which computer I’m on and I keep wiggling the mouse for one computer while I am looking at the monitor for the other one, wondering where my cursor went. Ditto with the keyboards as I type away on one and can’t understand why I don’t see any letters coming up on the screen for the other. It’s like learning how to drive a stick-shift all over again. Okay rant is over. Everybody go back to your homes…nothing to see here.

*****

Here’s a THANK YOU and WELCOME TO MY iMAC to some of the nice people who recently stopped by marc’s blog:

Nick Founder, Kathleen Neiman, Veronica DeLeo, Teri Griffin, The Internet Thumbdrive and danground7.  Thanks for being here on my new Mac.  Consider yourself a pioneer!

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to UPDATE ON THE GREAT COMPUTER CHANGEOVER

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    Rcarmean: set your watch to noon and then remove the battery and maybe you’ll be right,,,,

    Like

  2. Marc Kuhn says:

    Mike Fuller: I have a feeling I will make myself wait at least a year before I form any real opinion. I know I will have to probably get a bigger keyboard for the Mac. Every time I hit the “A” key my pinky slouches over and nudges the cap lock key and I don’t notice it until I look up and see a bunch of words all in caps. I do dumb things l like that and it drives me nuts. But the high-def monitor is really coo…Now, if I can just get a virtual daysailer on a virtual Chesapeake Bay, I’d have it made! Thanks for stopping by the blog.

    Like

  3. rcarmean says:

    You’ll be switched over completely to Mac by noon today. Just wait and see.

    Like

  4. Welcome to Mac World! I switched over last fall. Well, almost switched over. The PC still plays my music because I don’t have the time or energy to switch over. I use Word to write and wrote my last novel on the Macbook. I’m still learning. But the Mac seems to run faster and smoother than the Windows laptop. My needs a very simple. I don’t do anything complicated so I probably don’t fully appreciate the differences yet. But like sailing, I’m getting “two footitis”. The new Macbook is really neat…

    Like

Leave a Reply

