SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE AND EVERYWHERE ELSE!

man sleeping at desk

This is the fist posting that I have processed on my new iMAC. I still have a lot of things like websites and marketing files to transition over from my pc. It is not easy. I have much to do and much to learn. I spend a lot of time watching tutorials. I am learning a new website program and another for graphics. It is not going as smoothly as I would like, mostly because I have an issue that keeps getting in the way. This may bore many of you so feel free to click your mouse and move on.

I’ve had a sleep disorder most of my adult life. Like everything else, it seems to be getting worse as I get older. I’ve spent a lot of time and money on my sleep issues, but mostly I simply try to accommodate them. I have some sleep apnea that keeps me up at night and some narcolepsy that takes me down throughout the day. Sometimes, my sleep disorder plays itself out in the mostunusuallaa –-that’s supposed to read “most unusual ways.” So what’s with “mostunusuallaa?”   Well, I fell asleep when I came to that part of the sentence and that’s what my fingers typed while I dozed off. Honest, I am not making that up. I “drop out” constantly throughout the day, usually when I am sitting doing something without much physical exertion, like working at the computer….but not always. I can fall asleep while doing something active.

For example, I have fallen asleep while peddling the stationary bike at the gym. I once fell asleep while riding my Schwinn in a nearby park. I veered off a pathway and ran into a bunch of bushes. And too, as scary as it sounds, I have fallen asleep while driving, but fortunately not going 70 down the expressway. Instead, it’s when I’ve been stopped in a turn lane or at a red light. I’ll fall asleep and the foot will relax on the brake pedal and I’ll tap the car in front of me. I’ve done this twice. Once I popped one of those protruding metal bars on the rear of a tow truck. That was my worst accident. The truck didn’t even know I hit him. Meanwhile, my radiator was knocked back about four inches, taking a bunch of other parts with it. That ran up an eight thousand dollar repair bill. My wife does most of the driving these days.

One of the more humorous side effects of my sleep disorder happens when I am typing; it happens a lot. In fact, I am surprised it hasn’t happened already while I’ve been typing this posting. What happens is that I black out and one of my fingers will rest heavy on a key. I am not out long, just a few seconds, but when I wake back up there will be several rows of whatever letter my finger was on. For example, I could be right in the middle of this sentence and off I go kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk             kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk. Sometimes I’ll get several rows of a letter. I figure ultimately, if I luck out, my fingers could actually write a half decent novel this way. No doubt it’ll be a sleeper…sorry.

I used to be notorious at work for falling asleep during meetings. I had one colleague—and a dear friend—who would sit next to me and make sure l’d get a kick under the table anytime she sensed I was off visiting another world.

In addition to being tired all the time, the hardest part of dealing with my little problem has been writing. It is difficult to stay focused and “fluid” while your brain keeps taking a time-out.   This particular problem is really slowing down the writing process and I haven’t quite figured out how to work around it. Those intense-caffeine power drinks are not the answer. There is a pill that works nicely and I do take one when I have a long drive to make. I cannot take them more frequently because I’d have to rob a bank in order to pay for them. Coping skills come into play.

I could have something far worse to deal with, I suppose. The best way to handle a problem like this is to have a good sense of humor about it. I am frequently reminded of the theme song for George of the Jungle…you’ve heard it I’m sure: “George, George, George of the Jungle—watch out for that tree!”

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

