I’VE BEEN THINKING…

HC

As I sat out back on the patio this morning in my thinking chair, I got to thinking there are important things missing in my life.  They are things that are pure luxury, but nonetheless would bring me great happiness and ease the burden of mundane chores that I do over and over again.  As I sat there I thought, of course, I deserve no less.

I am focused here especially on the repetitive tasks that always need to be done but seem so unrewarding.  I am sure you do the same things.  I’m talking about chores or annoying events that never go away—the ones that when you do them you feel like you just did them an hour ago. These tasks are so prevalent in our lives yet they have failed to attract an inventor’s interest who would eventually construct a widget or some kind of procedure that would make them go away.  “How come,” I ask, “has no such inventor come along?”

Now, I know some of you will call me lazy or in shameless want of a life adorned with the abundant luxury of a gazillion household convenience items.  Well, you would be right—that is what I want.  Go ahead, make my day.

It’s just that there are certain things I am tired of doing and I wonder why–here comes the famous cliché–if we can put a man on the moon how come no one has developed any of the innovative items I am about to list?  Yes, I’ve made a list.  It’s not long.   It consists of just a few of the things I have thought about.  These will get us started:

  1. How come the dishwasher cannot empty itself and return all the dishes and silverware and pots and pans to their proper locations in the cabinets and drawers? I have mastered this ungrateful chore that most everyone else in the family seems to ignore.  That’s because they know full well that I am compulsive and will eventually empty the damn dishwasher myself.  Surely some brainy inventor could figure out how to get this done.
  2. How come there can’t be some kind of pneumatic tube or something in which you deposit your trash. There would be one in each room of the house and said trash would automatically be transported to an underground bin that rises up out of the curb on trash collection day? Or, better yet, goes directly to the landfill.
  3. How come our pet dogs and cats must eat…and eat…and eat? How come they constantly gather around your feet and beg for food every time you walk into the kitchen?   There are a gazillion breeds of dogs and cats.  Why can’t they develop breeds that are pre-fed or at least programmed to eat twice a day and want nothing else in between?
  4. If we have a machine that can wash our clothes and then dry them, then how come there isn’t a machine that will fold them? There are machines that bend metal, pour liquid into molds or otherwise make materials conform to specific shapes and sizes.  How come there isn’t one that makes freshly washed clothes do that?
  5. How come the inside of the front windshield in the car is always dirty? Why does it seem to always have a film over it even though no one smokes in the car.  Why is it, when you test this film with your finger to see if it’s there, and of course it always is, then you have a finger smear on the inside of the windshield.  Why is it so hard to clean the inside of the windshield unless you are a contortionists?  Can’t they make some kind of squeegee that comes down from inside the roof liner and cleans the windshield?
  6. How come ice cream cannot be available anywhere, anytime? No further explanation needed for that.

I could go on with lots more things, but you get my drift.  Some people ask what if? or why? while others ask why not?  Me?  I just wanna know how come?

*****

Here is the most recent crop of recipients of a big THANK YOU! from me.  Why?  Because these folks took a moment to stop by marc’s blog…they even read it!     …Rita Petrushansky-Mastroni, Kathleen Neiman, Lee Ann Kuhn, Ron Carmean, Teri Griffin, Ashley Serrate, Roni Komie, Shannon Jenners  

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

