FROM PC TO MAC

Desk

I am a man in transition.  My new iMac arrived and now I have to switch from using a PC all my life to starting all over again, somewhat, with the Mac which I have never used.  There will definitely be a learning curve; how high it arcs into the air is unclear right now, but right away there have been major puzzlements and minor frustrations.

I have found that I have a nasty personality disorder when it comes to a computer.  I do not have very much patience when it is not doing what I want or expect it to do.  If I cannot figure out the problem quickly I actually feel myself getting angry, very angry.  I do not know why this is. After all, it’s just a machine and I shouldn’t allow myself to get so upset just because it isn’t doing something I want it to.

Anyway, I have much to do regarding the big switch from PC to Mac.  First, I have to learn some new programs.  I have six websites that I have built from scratch and I pretty much have to buy a new software package and start each one all over again.  That will take some time. Then I have all my books and their accompanying marketing materials. There’s a whole new world I have to live in for taking care of them.   I use Photoshop a lot, but now I would have to buy the Mac version which is toooooo expensive.  I have found a brand new alternative that looks pretty good and it’s a fraction of the cost….but I will have to spend time learning it.

From the very start, I keep falling back onto the PC because it’s what I know and it’s easy.  But then, I know today I will begin spending a lot more time on the Mac and may even download some programming onto it.  I started watching some tutorials on YouTube and if I can get by the instructor’s annoying voice, they should help a lot.

As you can see in the picture above, I have the computers side-by-side on my desk (btw, that’s the Cubs beating the Padres on the PC monitor).  The two computers will probably be like that for several weeks while I change over to the Mac.  It’s like having two wives, or maybe a wife and a mistress.  Of course, I am not making reference to any personal experience…just what I’ve read about in Cosmo.  They are both vying for my attention yet I have to keep them on even keel while I move from one to the other.  I’ve picked up this vibe that they are resentful of each other.

Meanwhile, this just in…for those who like stats, WordPress (the platform for this blog) just came out with some new compilations for its bloggers.  In addition to my knowing how many of you stop by here each day along with other bits and pieces of information, WordPress now keeps track of your timing.  The highest percentage of you (20%) stops by on Thursday and noon is your favorite time to be here.  So noon on Thursday is prime time, for which I am not now, nor ever will be, ready.

*****

BREAKING NEWS:  

I feel like a bridesmaid this week.  Twice I’ve come in as a “finalist” in a book awards competition.  Close but no statue.  Considering these are national and international contests with hundreds of entries I should be humbly happy that I even made the finalist cut.  That said, here are the two honors achieved by DEAD LETTER, my mystery/suspense novel with the “holy crap” ending:

Finalist, Mystery/Suspense, 2015 International Book Awards, Honoring Excellence in Independent & Mainstream Publishing….Sponsored by USA Book News

 Finalist, Suspense, 2015 9th Annual Indie Excellence Awards

 I am still holding out for the Pulitzer.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

