WHAT WE HAVE HERE IS A DISCONNECT…

cans (2)As a writer, I would think the worst thing that could happen is for there to be a disconnect between the writer and his readers.  It’s the same as the old phrase, “What we have here is a failure to communicate.”  I sense that is what happened with my last posting—the one titled Spitting and Baseball.

I’m coming up on my 300th posting since I started this gig and I have gathered up close to 600 followers.  That’s a good number of people, certainly more than I can fit in my living room if I were to invite everyone over.  But that doesn’t mean the blog is pumping away on all cylinders every time there’s a new posting.  Spitting and Baseball, the posting just before this one, for example, ended up pretty much down there with the bottom feeders.  It gathered hardly any response at all which means most of you weren’t interested or simply didn’t like it.  The problem is, it’s a posting that I liked better than most and thought would get good response—hence, the disconnect.

By now I should have a pretty good handle on all this. I should know what you like and don’t like and especially know the far ends of each.  But that’s part of the fun of all this too—figuring out where the sweet spot is and seeing how often I can hit it.

So you and I have to keep at it.  I have to work harder to write things that float your boat, tickle your fancy and maybe even knock your socks off.  Your part?  Well, all you have to do is keep coming back and leaving a “like” if indeed that’s how you felt after reading a posting.   We’ll get this all figured out eventually I’m sure.  I know I’m gonna keep at it even if it takes until DDUP (death do us part).

Still, I was a little hesitant to commit to a subject for today’s posting.  I’m a little squeamish at this point.  I’m inclined to select a topic like sex, or dogs and cats, or maybe a diatribe dealing with various religions.  Those kinds of subjects seem to always draw attention.  Maybe I should combine them and do one grand slam about dogs and cats having sex in church.

I suppose my dilemma is no different from that of a professional columnist.  I have to assume they go through the same process given the amount of “postings” they have to write.  They can’t hit the mark every time.  In my day, guys like Art Buchwald, Andy Rooney and Paul Harvey among others, always seemed to be on target, but I am sure they had their fair share of duds along the way.  I hasten to say that I am certainly not comparing myself to any of these superstar journalists.  But I do feel somewhat akin since our chemical mix shares a lot of the same elements.

So you and I will keep on keep’n on until we get it right most of the time and for that, well, for that I will be forever grateful.  Which reminds me, I am going to begin a new procedure with this posting.  Many times I cannot figure out the mechanics of WordPressville and I am unable to return a “thank you” to a fellow blogger who either left me a “like” or signed up as a follower.  Then too, since my postings appear on many venues beside just WordPress, I receive various feedback from those sources that you never see here.  So, I’ve decided that periodically I will collect all the current responses and do one “collective thanks” to everyone.

That is a bit clinical to do it this way, but I would not want anyone to feel as though I ignored them.  That is one thing I am sensitive about.  So we will see how it gloes beginning here and now.  That said here are the folks who have stopped by marc’s blog lately and left a comment or a “like.”  If I could send each of you a bowl of ice cream I definitely would, but I hope a big THANK YOU will suffice:

Mike Fuller, SimpleLivingOver50, Branded Carolina Girl, Hear Me Out (Ria not Reeyah), Teri Griffin, Ron Carmean and Chris Nicholas

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

