NEWS YOU CAN’T USE…

NewsUpdate copy


I thought I would give you some updates on things I’ve discussed in previous postings…actually they are more like guilt confessions.

First, the diet.  I was good for about 5-6 weeks straight and I did lose about ten pounds.  The problem was, I didn’t lose enough where I needed to lose it: in my stomach.  In fact, my face was getting so thin it was even scarier than usual.  I did not reach my goal of being able to place my chin on my throat and be able to look down and see the floor between my feet.

I started small cheats at first.  My granddaughter (who lives with us) works for Panera Bread and one night she came home with enough rolls, loaves and bagels to feed a small army.  What was I to do?  I had to help wrap it all up and find room in the freezer for it.  Along the way, I snagged a slice of honey wheat…then a slice of sour dough….then half a bagel…then this apple/cinnamon thingy…then a slice of rye…it went on and on. Oh the humanity!  Before you know it, within two days I was back up 5 pounds.  It may have been the peanut butter I put on some of the bread.

Anyway, I am still going to the gym every other day and I have expanded my cardio workout and I continue to follow most of the diet.  It will simply have to be a long-term project.  I still have not bought myself any ice cream…other than one pint two weeks ago.  Okay, there, I confessed it all…well most of it.  My stomach is flatter…I just hope it continues shrinking and I eventually reach my goal.  At least now I can see my toes.

And…how ‘bout dem Cubs!  I proclaimed last month that I would become an official baseball fan this season and I adopted the Chicago Cubs as my team.  I also explained that this would be a challenging commitment because I have a hard time setting aside the excessive time that is necessary to follow a team all the way through the season.  Apparently that was not a false prediction since I have missed the past three games entirely either because I just plain forgot or I was busy doing something else.  So, does this mean I am no longer qualified to be an official fan of the Cubs?  I’m not sure; I am not up on the rules and regs of fandomhood.  Regardless, I still intend to make a go of it and continue watching the Cubs play…if I remember.  God, it is so hard to remember certain things now that I just remembered I’m getting old.  Oooo, I just remembered this too: the team did bring back that upstart Bryant guy from their farm team—the one who was out-hitting everyone in the pre-season.  Well so far he has earned his keep, having pulled off some impressive defensive plays at third base and for getting two hits, one in a critical 11th inning of a game the Cubs won with a walk-off run.  Holy crap, I actually sound baseballish!

And finally, an update and plea for help regarding my next book which I hope to have published in the fall (see http://readanchor.com).  I am nine chapters in and currently at a part in the story that takes place on a cruise ship in 1982.  I need to do some minor fact-checking about cruise ships in the 80s and I am having an impossible time getting anyone who is an authority to talk to me.  I have figured out why–it is a no-brainer:  the cruise ship industry is very skittish talking about anything negative and, therefore, it will ignore any of my requests to talk to someone.  There is nothing negative lodged against cruising in my book, I just have some procedural questions about someone going overboard…but they don’t want to discuss things like that.  If you worked in the industry back in the 80s or know someone who did and who might spend five minutes with me on the phone or via e-mail, I would definitely appreciate hearing from you.  Send me a note at info@marckuhn.com …and thanks for your help!

That’s it from the update desk; no film at 11 (do they even make film anymore?)

*****

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NEWS YOU CAN’T USE…

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    Mike Fuller: in the order of your list: it’s either 4-5 large meals or 8-10 small ones–I can never get the ratio right…I have the bad knee so I’d probably feel sorry for the college kid…I can’t follow the Yankee–one team is enough…Alaska is the best cruise…the fog will eventually lift, usually at the most unexpected time…good luck widdat! Thanks for the feedback.

    Like

  2. Diet: Ugh. Just eat four or five SMALL meals a day and nothing after dark. Yeah, that’s it. If only it was possible. But then you could combine baseball and dieting. Hire some x-college slugger who has a bad knee now to follow you around with a baseball bat. Incentive.

    Baseball: Actually saw a Yankee get a hit the other night.

    The novel: Our first cruise wasn’t until 2001 but our last one was in March. One of the spring breakers did go over and when he was discovered missing we turned around and sailed back. Spent the day searching. He was never found.

    I’m waiting for the twists to form in my head for the next book. I have the research ready but need to find the path through the fog. We’re traveling for the next 10 days so maybe after that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

