CHECK TIME

When I finally got him home and he went to sleep I loved every minute of his restless sleep.aybillsMy wife and I have been recycled back to the time when we first got married and began raising a family.  Back then we did not make a lot of money so we were always very frugal and constantly making sacrifices.  It was especially depressing not being able to buy something simply because you could not afford it, even though it really wasn’t a luxury.  And the death of a major appliance or a costly car repair stacked up the balance on a credit card beyond belief.

Those days are back now that both of us are out of work and living off Social Security and using our savings to supplement the monthly payouts.  Before, the savings were replenished as we continued to work and our income rose.  Now the meager stockpile of funds drains like a rusty bucket with a hole in the bottom.

It’s easy to tell that I just went through a stack of bills this morning, isn’t it?  Somehow, this process always puts me in this negative funk.  I wasn’t in it long, however, thanks to a friend’s story I read on Facebook a few moments ago.

Her husband was in an accident resulting in an ambulance ride to the hospital with some impressive lumps and bruises.  She went through the horrible phone call no one ever wants to get; the frantic rush to the hospital all the while thinking the worse; she also made the panicky calls to her children to have them hurry and join her there.

Once the worst fears were eradicated and the hospital was done putting him back together again, she transported her wounded partner back home and put him to bed.  “When I finally got him home,” she wrote, “and he went to sleep, I loved every minute of his restless sleep.”

These are the experiences, especially as we age, that keep material things like my stack of bills in check. They tell you not to waste time worrying about the things you can’t or don’t have.  Instead, they give you a good whack on the side of the head and remind you to enjoy and cherish the things you do have…especially your priceless loved ones.

 *****

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CHECK TIME

  1. vonchris says:

    Money is good, but it’s not everything. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

