MY DEAD FROG

F&F

I don’t know from where it came or why, but somewhere in my mental travels this afternoon I thought about my frog…my dead frog.  Stay with me on this; there’s a little here to chew on.

When I was in junior high (what they call middle school today) in one of the grades in science class all the students got to dissect a frog.  It was a big deal.  The girls, of course, were “cultured” to be squeamish about the whole thing while we boys couldn’t wait to take scalpel in hand and slice the little croaker apart.

Everyone got their very own frog and a slab of thin wood on which to mount him with pins when the job was completed.  Those who wanted to, could get a jar of formaldehyde, drop the frog in, screw the top on tight and take it home to share with the family.  I did exactly that.

I thought it was cool, seeing the innards of an animal and how all the parts were in place and worked together to process the various functions of the body.  Yep, it was a proud moment when I took my dead dissected frog-in-a-jar home to show my mom and dad.

We had a stairway that led from the back of the kitchen to the basement.  The wall on the one side of the stairs was recessed about eight inches, leaving just enough depth for a triangular unit of shelves lengthwise along the stairs without inhibiting passage up and down.  My father, being the engineering genius that he was, installed said shelves—about half a dozen of them—and they became our cupboard.  That’s where all our boxes and cans of food were stored.  There was a slight design flaw that affected me only.  I was the short one in the family and the farther away a can of beans sat on the shelf, the further down the steps I had to go to get to where it was.  But by then I was too low on the stairs to reach high enough to retrieve the beans.  Once I grew another foot or so, the problem went away.  But I digress.

Somehow, and I have no idea how, my dead frog wound up stored on the shelf right at the top of the stairs.  If you started downstairs or if you were at the top of the stairs getting something from the shelves, you could not miss seeing my dead frog, lungs peacefully dangling in their jar of juice right there on the top shelf.  Indeed, I do remember several guests being startled by the sight…something I suppose they did not expect to see on a cupboard shelf next to the box of Cheerios.

I remember definitely that the frog didn’t move from that spot for over ten years.  It was just part of the scene.  No one in the family thought anything of it.  I’m sure if it had revolted my mother it would have been gone immediately.  But she was cool.  It was my school project and like the gazillion pieces of artwork posted on the fridge door and the plaster of Paris impression of my hand that hung on her bedroom wall, the frog was destined to be displayed and the top shelf of the cupboard was as good a spot as any.

Okay, so this is what I spent a few minutes daydreaming about today.  And the only reason I can justify why it came out of nowhere was simply to remind me to never forget what cool (translation GREAT) parents I had.  How lucky to have a mother and father whose whimsy had no problem honoring their son’s obnoxious science project sitting proudly on display between the can of chicken noodle and the jar of Welch’s.  How innocently insane.  I wish my folks were here today to share the quiet laugh I had.

As I said, just a little to chew on…but for sure a not-so-meaningless happy memory of what the good life is all about.

*****

For you diet watchers, yes, I am still on it, though the scale is slow to respond and it is a bit of a struggle to keep at it every day.  I am determined to stay with it for a while more and I will update you next time.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in SERIOUSLY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MY DEAD FROG

  1. neenz87 says:

    What a hilarious post, Marc!. Loved reading it.. It’s always fun reading your posts ♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

