THE DIET…DAY FIVE AND WEIGHING

goal copy

 

So here I am five days into the Zero Belly Diet (see preceding postings) and I cannot believe several things:

  • First…Some of the recipes are pretty good. Two of the salads and three of the main entrees I made are actually pretty tasty.  I have used a lot of healthy vegan-type ingredients that I have never had and it’s been okay. I made a chicken dish and a swordfish dish that were, if I say so myself, outstanding!
  • Second…there is a daily blender beverage on the menu. Each is practically the same except for differentiating one or two ingredients.  Each is the same in that they all include a scoop of plant-based protein powder.  No matter what else you put in, you cannot escape the putrid taste of the protein powder.  It is awful.  I chose the “neutral” flavor powder to start off with and now I am sorry I didn’t go for the vanilla-flavored powder, although I am not sure anything can help this stuff.  It’s just awful.  Oh, I said that.  Even chocolate (which is allowed) didn’t help.  Arsenic might.  I would drop this item from the menu, but I think it’s a vital part of the mix and I don’t want to mess with the overall concept of the diet for at least the two weeks that I committed myself to it.  If I mess with it much, then it’s no longer a “pure” test.
  • Third…and this is what they call in journalism “burying the lead” –I LOST THREE POUNDS IN FOUR DAYS!!!!! No kidding.  The electronic scale does not lie.  This has even made the daily midday shake go down a little easier.  I have, too, shown incredible discipline.  There is ice cream in the freezer and there are York peppermint patties on the table.  I have touched neither…although I have thought about it and then I walked away.

So I guess I shall continue on with this thing.  I do not have a specific weight goal in mind.  I was up to 190 which for skinny me is like really really overweight. It’s all in my belly, hence my choosing the “Zero Belly Diet.”  I would like to see 170 and 165 would make me ecstatic. But it’s more of a health thing than anything else.  I have some issues that the doctor said would bring this blog to a close if I didn’t get my stomach down…and you all know what a tragedy that would be.

There is one thing that I would like to do, so I think I will make it my goal.  For a long time I have not been able to—without bending forward—see the floor between my feet.  I’d like to just bend my head down, have my chin touch my throat and see between my feet.  That shall be my goal.  Life can be inspiring sometimes, huh?  All it takes is the challenge of drinking a putrid beverage once a day and you can appreciate almost anything.  Oh, BTW, those feet in the picture…not mine.  I wish they were because they look a lot better than my feet which have a lot more miles on them.

 ******

 

 

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE DIET…DAY FIVE AND WEIGHING

  1. Suzanne Langman says:

    Doesn’t it feel great to take control

    Like

Leave a Reply

