LET THE DIET BEGIN!

bookA few postings back I wrote about the latest best-seller diet book, THE ZERO BELLY DIET.  It’s written by David Zinczenko who wrote the popular series EAT THIS, NOT THAT.  The Zero Belly Diet allegedly zeros in all the fat that makes up that big round bulge many folks lug around as their mid-section all day…me included.  How the diet can be precisely that specific in its target, I have no idea.  But given the fact that I’ve been exercising at a gym on the average of 3-4 days a week since October and haven’t lost one stinking inch of waistline…well, it’s time to try a diet.  This one has the same mission I do.

I postponed beginning the diet because I was going to Disney World last week and it would have been really really stupid to try to diet at Disney.  But now I’m home and I can’t procrastinate forever.  So yesterday I took this loooooong shopping list I made from the book and ran off to Trader Joe’s and filled my basket with over $250’s worth of food, much of which I never bought before, like bulb fennel, green lentils, chia seeds and a page-and-a-half list of other stuff.

The book has an entire week’s menu planned out for every meal, drink and snack.  Some of the recipes are pretty work-intensive.  This is not going to be easy.  The hardest part will be the limit of one cup of coffee a day.  I don’t think I’ve gotten through a day with that little coffee since my 4th birthday when I distinctly remember my mother saying, “Okay, Marc, just one more cup and that’s all for today.”

I figure I’ll spend the day cooking a few days’ worth of meals and tossing them in the freezer.  Otherwise every night I’ll have this major project waiting for me at the kitchen stove and I know I’ll cop out eventually.  As for this first day, I’ve already had my one cup of coffee.  Now I’m supposed to switch to green tea for the rest of the day.  I’m allowed—in fact, encouraged—to drink gallons of that.

This is all very challenging because I’ve never really had to diet before.  There are several good things about the Zero Belly Diet that may at least make it a little easier for me.  There are meats on the menu and fish that I like.   There’s a bunch of “smoothie” type drinks that look okay and…and…get this: dark chocolate is allowed in moderation.  Now, any diet that includes dark chocolate has to have something goin’ for it.  Although to my big disappointment, ice cream doesn’t seem to be mentioned anywhere.

Oh well, let the diet begin!  Day 1 and counting….

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

