I’M WRITING A SEX SCENE…OMG!

ShowerMan                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        man typing image from kookerkids.com

For the past five years I’ve been publishing a book a year and the one for 2015 is already up and running with 4 full chapters.  I seem to be alternating between children’s books and adult books.  This wasn’t intentional; it’s just the way it turned out.  This year it’s the adult book.  I know that because there is a serious, detailed sex scene in this book.  I have never written a nitty-gritty sex scene and the initial draft felt odd to write to say the least.  While I am a stallion in bed…or is that a sexual fantasy?—oh never mind…the challenge of writing a sex scene was so daunting that I wound up redoing just about every sentence several times.  I can’t wait to see how my wife reacts when she reads it.  Somehow I think she will find it hysterical and I will be the brunt of her one-liners for the rest of the week.

I let these particular pages simmer (pun intended) for the past week while I was out of town.  Now that I am back, I intend to take a fresh “renewed” look at them today and see how I react.  Maybe I will surprise myself and find them acceptable, perhaps even better than acceptable.  Or, maybe I will read them and find them to be quite an embarrassment.  One thing is for sure, there won’t be one shade of gray about them, let alone 50.

As you might guess, I don’t read romance novels.  It probably would have been a good idea if I had gone through a few of them just to look for some pointers before I attempted my own bedroom scene.  But then, my version is raw and shows no influence from outside sources.  Perhaps that’s more honest and believable and less embedded (pun intended) with clichés and stereotypical imagery.  I don’t know.  It’s all so confusing.

How does one know if he/she has written a good sex scene?  I thought about having a test group answer that question like they do for products.  You know, select a demographically targeted group of people, have them come to a big conference room in some hotel and have them read the specified section of the book and then react to it.  I was thinking I could have a bunch of cold showers in the back of the room and we’d measure the results by how many people needed one after they read the pages.  Or, we’d have them wired up with all kinds of sensors tied to a machine that would measure their pulse and sweat output and stuff like that. Then, if there were significant increases in these levels as they read the sex scene we could draw the conclusion that the writing was pretty stimulating.

I have a feeling I will be writing and rewriting these few paragraphs an incredible number of times before I settle on the final version.  I wonder if I’ll need a cigarette when I’m done?  Maybe I would have been better off breaking the mold and writing two children’s books in a row.  That would have been so much easier.

*****

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’M WRITING A SEX SCENE…OMG!

  1. Angela says:

    HA! Thanks for the smile 🙂

    Like

  2. Marc Kuhn says:

    Angela…thank you for stopping by marc’s blog and reading my post about writing a sex scene. I guess I should say I am glad it was good for you! I hope it eventually turns out that way for readers of the book.

    Like

  3. Angela says:

    What a fun post! I cannot imagine the difficulty that must be involved in writing sex scenes. I think not looking at something for a bit of time and coming back to it to see how you feel about it is a great idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

