ANOTHER YEAR OFF MY ROCKER

rocking chair

 

So I was out back on the patio sitting in my thinking chair…thinking.  I always get reflective this time of year…makes sense since it is the last two weeks of 2014.  It was a “W” year for me.  I gained Weight, took on a few more Worries…and lost Wealth, not that I had any to begin with.  The theme may continue since I sense 2015 will be a Watchful year.

I have to admit as you get older you begin wondering how many more end-of-year holidays remain.  2015 will be a significant birthday for me—70—even though my wife says 70 is not yet “old.”  She just retired as a nurse who cared for patients much older than 70 so her perspective is a little different from mine.  She says 70 is still young; I say rubbish, it’s old.   See, “rubbish” is even a term old people use.

Yes, I have thought about all the clichés:  you’re only as old as you feel; I’ll be 70 years young; you can survive to a hundred and five if you’re young at heart; etc. etc.  I shall continue to attempt to view the glass half full, but each year’s sip is making that more and more difficult to do.  What is relevant is that I still do “think young” or at least as “young” as my reference points allow.  But, when I see old people those same reference points tell me they do look old and that’s the problem because if I am honest with myself, I appear just as old as they do.

We just spent some time with a high school classmate of mine.  I caught myself staring at him and wondering how he has managed to keep his face from wrinkling up and sagging here and there like mine.  I told my wife I thought he looked years younger than I do despite our being the same age.  I want what he’s drinking.  Whatever it is, it has no sugar because he’s a diabetic.  Maybe it’s all the years of no sugar that has kept him young.  He’s still working to boot.  I gave that up six years ago, though it wasn’t my choice.

So here it is, another year going into the “was” column and here am I wondering how many more are there going to be in the “is” column.   I just learned my life insurance policy terminates in 2019 and my agent said it is unlikely I will be able to get a new one…at least one that would be affordable.  That sure puts the young v. old argument in perspective.

Given my competitive nature, however, I shall fight this thing called “old” and continue to attempt writing a book that becomes popular, be active and go places where and when I want to (expense permitting), keep ice cream in the freezer and continue liking Taylor Swift’s music no matter how silly that appears at my age.  Hell, she’s only a little under half a century younger than me.

*****

XmasGift copy

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ANOTHER YEAR OFF MY ROCKER

  1. clareodea says:

    Hi Marc, how refresing to read your honest reflections on age. You just cannot feel the same about life at every stage. But the real divider has got to be health. Once you are healthy you are free to act any age you like 🙂 .
    Wishing you a happy and healthy 2015!
    Clare

    Like

Leave a Reply

