THE PROCESS…SOMETHING TO BE THANKFUL FOR!

credit

So here it is, another Thanksgiving and I find myself reminiscing once more. I seem to spend a lot of time doing that lately.  I guess it’s a byproduct of growing older—thinking about things you’ve done, places you’ve gone and people who have come, gone or stayed throughout the process.  And, indeed, it is a process.  It has a beginning, a large middle—you hope—and a quick and peaceful end…you also hope.

I do try to take a moment each Thanksgiving, albeit a private one, to think about what I am thankful for.  I am thankful that the big cancer scare I had this year turned out to be little, at least for the time being.  It could be an issue sometime down the road, but for now I’m told I’ll more than likely die from something else.  I am instructed to keep an eye on it and I have made that a new, standard part of the process.  As such the issue is parked and it is not consuming my every thought as it was earlier in the year. So I am grateful for that.

I have had unfortunate gains this year.  My waistline has expanded to the point where, for the first time in my life, weight is an issue.  I now go to the gym every other day and beat myself up and then return home to eat things I shouldn’t…but I am getting more disciplined about that and I am grateful—supposedly—for consuming less ice cream and fewer cookies.

I am thankful that my wife Rosemarie had a decent first-year of retirement, though some of her body parts are showing stress and some ancient car accident injuries are acting out once more, as they seem to do every ten years or so.  But over all, she, like me, is still able to get around on her own, drive to where she wants to go and makes it up and down the steps with just a moderate amount of groans.  That she can still maneuver through the process as a coordinated, unassisted, functioning human body….well, I am thankful for that.

I am thankful that our family, overall, is continuing in the process too.  There have been some bumps this year and there are a few issues that still tax us elders of the clan.   We hope these are resolved in some favorable way, the sooner the better.  But, I suppose this is true of most families today where stress is inevitable and the accompanying clash of personalities is all part of the process.  There is still laughter along with care and concern going on in the family’s collective process and that is something to be thankful for.

I am thankful for lots of little things too…that the refrigerator still works despite making a horrible noise every now and then.  I am grateful that the replacement part for the one that is causing the racket arrived so that I can install it the moment the old one finally breaks for good.  I am grateful that the new car we bought last Black Friday has survived the year without any recalls.  I am grateful I got new glasses, although there are still just as many typos in my blog.  I am grateful that I published my fifth book this year, but no so grateful that I haven’t learned how to make my books more successful.  That is definitely an ongoing process.  I am grateful that my two most valuable assets—my computer and my Keurig coffee maker, continue to function correctly despite needing a minor adjustment once in a while or a good slap on the side.  I almost forgot to mention that Rosemarie and I went on a cruise last spring and we saw the Panama Canal.  I was grateful we were able to do that.

I probably could go on and on.  We all take too many things for granted but there is much to be grateful for when you stop and think about it….assuming nothing really terrible has occurred in your life.  For me it’s been another “basic” year with a few exciting moments, good and bad.  If you are simply trying to get through the process as easily as possible and with as few heartaches as possible…well then, achieving that alone is a big deal and one should be grateful.  There are always others who were not as lucky and the process proved more difficult.  With that said, here’s a rerun from last year’s posting on this day…

Thanksgiving is the one American holiday that has it all.

Parades and family gatherings, the big dinner and, of course, football.

The clanging of pots and pans signal a busy kitchen with lots going on.

Cooks across the country have been up cooking since early dawn.

There’s the bird to stuff, and a string bean casserole to make

And for dessert there are pecan and pumpkin pies to bake.

No time to worry whether or not your waistline appears svelte.

‘Tis better you throw caution to the wind and just loosen your belt.

I’ll watch the big parade and cheer when Santa comes at the end.

Then it’s officially Christmas with presents to buy and cards to send.

I will no doubt park myself in front of the TV and watch the big game.

And if my team loses I’ll make sure everyone knows who’s to blame.

Meanwhile, I have lots to be thankful for this year, just as in the past,

I’ll think good thoughts and build memories to make them last.

And one final Thanksgiving tradition of merit, if you want my advice,

Always be thankful to the turkey who made the ultimate sacrifice.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

