ANOTHER POETIC ATTEMPT

past-future-signposts

There are so many things I want to do all over again.

I want to do them exactly in the way I did them then.

I want to ride my sled down a snowy hill a hundred times.

I want to sell empty soda bottles till I collect enough dimes.

I want to take the train downtown and then return back home.

With little bus fare there was an entire city I could roam.

I want to rake leaves in a big pile and smell them burn,

Or mow neighbors’ lawns for spending money I’d earn.

I want to go back to high school and pay more attention.

I’d get higher grades this time or at least honorable mention.

I want to walk the streets of my neighborhood just as they were.

I don’t want to see them as they appear now, memories all a blur.

I want to meet the girl I married for the first time all over again.

I want to feel those feelings just one more time if I can.

I want to ride in the back seat of the bus and smell the fumes.

I want to roam the house I grew up in and revisit all the rooms.

I want to ride my bike to places my parents wouldn’t believe,

Just to see what there was to see and how many miles I’d achieve.

Speaking of parents, I wish they could hear what they need to hear,

How priceless they were to me, how cherished and held so dear.

I am getting old now and looking back makes me feel better than ahead.

Going forward holds no promise; I enjoy reliving the past instead.

*****

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

