ALMOST ALMOST!

DeadLetter8I wasn’t a winner, but I must have come close.  My book, DEAD LETTER, was entered in this year’s annual self-published book awards competition sponsored by Writer’s Digest magazine, one of two of the most important trade publications in the book biz.  DEAD LETTER scored the highest (5 = “Outstanding”) in every category except for one in which it got a 4—the cover!   The judge was not crazy about the naked lady.  BUT, BUT, I could not ask for a better review (read below) and it is especially gratifying since it comes from a totally objective and highly respected source.  I am certainly not one prone to bragging, but as a wannabe successful writer, this is a proud moment for me.  Hey, I cudda been a contendah!

Here’s how DEAD LETTER did…

Structure, Organization, and Pacing: 5

Spelling, Punctuation, and Grammar: 5

Production Quality and Cover Design: 4

Plot and Story Appeal: 5

Character Appeal and Development: 5

Voice and Writing Style: 5

Judge’s Commentary:

“DEAD LETTER by Marc Kuhn is a story written by an author who seems to possess a sensitive soul that gives him the ability to craft a touching, deeply emotional and satisfying story.

As for production values, I like the title but I wasn’t all that crazy about the cover, not because I have an issue with nudity (I don’t) but because it was dull. I think a picture of a small town or a letter would have been just as effective, if not more so. Of course, this is a personal opinion from a reader who prefers vibrant colors on book covers. However, the back cover copy was excellent and well written. I think it will spur people to read the book. Nice author bio. It encouraged me to check out the other books, and to visit the web site listed. It was nice to see a picture of the author on the site.

I enjoy books set in small towns and I think other readers will enjoy the setting, too. I think the author also does an excellent job capturing the eras he writes about as well. The opening of the book was amusing, as obviously intended. The feeling the early part of the book generated reminded me of SUMMER OF ’42 by Herman Raucher, which is a good thing. The writing style is superb, keeping the story moving at an excellent pace. The author is talented not only as a writer, but at evoking emotions. Readers who love romance and mystery will fall in love with this book”

– Judge, 22nd Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards

 *****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ALMOST ALMOST!

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    I have posted it everywhere I’m linked so I have to start prospecting for some more locations. Given the coverage of the lava flow on the big island, I should buy a nearby billboard assuming it won’t be consumed in flames….Meanwhile, I’ve been sitting in a chair at the library every afternoon with a sign that says “Author Waiting to be Discovered” but that hasn’t attracted much attention. Thanks for your support!

    Like

  2. Suzanne says:

    Wow I’m so proud of you.and I’m so glad that you’re proud of yourself. Now let’s find out what to do with this and capitalize on it.where can you post this

    Aloha, from Suzanne

    >

    Like

  3. What a great accomplishment! Congratulations!

    Like

  4. rcarmean says:

    Aside from your story, the other best thing to come from Maryland is soft shell crabs.

    Like

  5. Leonor Torres says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

