BUCKLE UP SPARKY…WE’RE STARTING A NEW BOOK!

LogjamMen

At last…I have come unclogged.  I have had a long dry spell but the rains have returned.  After months of writer’s block the logjam is finally freeing itself and the seedling of an idea for my next project has at long-last ascended out of the depths of my brain, acquired its own soul and is ready to take flight.  What I’m saying here is that for most of the year I haven’t had a viable idea for a new book.  Today that is over.  The idea is in hand and in brain and I even put it down onto paper so I would not forget it.

Actually, I have had an inkling of an idea since last year but I was not able to work out some serous kinks that came with it.  Plus, it dealt with a subject matter that I have very little knowledge of and while I am not afraid of tackling heavy duty research, the whole concept scared me and I worried about making a serious mistake.  What took so long was finding a way of filtering out this cantankerous obstacle while still maintaining the main gist of the idea.  That is what finally came to me this week as I peddled my bike around its routine six mile trek through my neighborhood.  Finally my exercising paid off.

There is, however, still one element in the book that scares me a bit.  It’s a sex scene that has to take place and, so far, I have avoided putting one in any of my books.  Oh, I’ve written a passionate moment here and there, but never a serious down and naked hot-wired body-to-body sweaty encounter.  Given my old-fashioned stiltedness and respectable reputation, writing about the sexual act itself should prove challenging.  Well, maybe not that challenging.  I cannot help but wonder how my wife will accept it all.  What will my kids think?  Anytime I start talking about sex they are quick to advise me to “share, not scare.”  So this exercise should prove interesting—the old man writing a hot ‘n heavy sex scene.  It comes early in the book so I guess I should get busy with some serious forethought…or is that foreplay?

Now, I know you must be curious about what the new book will be about.  So am I.  I know that it will probably take place in current time, or at least within the timeframe of my life so I will not have much historical content to worry about.  It’s a family story but the focus will be on a father/daughter relationship.  There will be good times/bad times and maybe even a dead body thrown in for good measure.

So now begins the flushing-out stage.  I have to put some serious time into getting the story lined up in proper order.  The characters need individual development, both in body and soul.  All the details have to become embedded in my head so I have at least some direction to meander toward.  Yep, this is one of the exciting parts of writing a book; time to wake up and rev the idle engines and prepare for take off.  But first…some chocolate.  Yes, it’s part of the process.

 

 *****

Here is your assignment for today:  Find a kid–any kid–preferrably one between the ages of 8 and 12.

Make the kid happy.  How?  Buy the kid a copy of this book…

lateraltitle copy

“It was an amazing book.  I loved it!  It made me laugh so many times.”     Madison Dunbar, 11, Texas

****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BUCKLE UP SPARKY…WE’RE STARTING A NEW BOOK!

  1. rcarmean says:

    I am calling the New York Times Review of Books and telling them to get ready for your next adventure. Please don’t put me in a nude scene. I’m not ready for my close up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

