MY KNEAD UNFULFILLED

breadbaker

We inherited a fancy fire engine red KitchenAid mixer last week.  The first thing I did was order a dough hook for it.  Like lots of foods that many of us should go easy on, fresh baked bread is simply something I cannot refuse when the basket is passed around the table.  So, having this new mixer with the dough hook thingie means I can make bread without having to go through the kneading process.  Great.

Sunday morning is bread making day.  I lay out and measure all the ingredients and proceed with a recipe for rustic bread I got off the internet.  The dough hook did a convincing job of making the dough and gathering it into a nice ball…but the minute I put my hands on it, it simply did not feel right.  It was tough.

I followed through with all the remaining rising and kneading sessions and I must admit I was a little optimistic since the dough rose very nicely… and did so twice.  Then I finally got ready to put it in the oven and I put the cosmetic knife slicings in the top and wished it well.

The bread never browned. Never.  I couldn’t keep on baking it; it simply was not going to come out looking anything like the golden crusted beauties in the picture.  Instead of rising more in the oven, it sank.  That made it dense and…tough!  It was awful.

I will try again, but I think I might just go back to using my hands and putting the dough hook in with the fishing gear in the event I run into Jaws.

After all the time and effort it was really disappointing.  There was no saving it.  I fed it to the black hole in the kitchen sink.  Then I popped a Thomas’ English muffin into the toaster.  There’s something about a Thomas’ that can sort of sooth a bad bread baking day.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MY KNEAD UNFULFILLED

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    According to my calculations #500 would be justenalexander, a young man from Canada. He has won nothing other than my gratitude for signing up and a bowl of Chunky Monkey if he ever stops by the house….thanks for checking in Anonymous.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Who will be your 500th follower?

    Like

Leave a Reply

