MOVE OVER SPIELBERG, I MADE A VIDEO!

film crew

If you are a fellow self-publisher I do not have to tell you that marketing and production costs can add up pretty quickly if you don’t pay attention. That’s why I try to do as much as I can by myself.  Fortunately, I spent a lot of time working in marketing throughout my career so knowing how to package up promotional and advertising “stuff” helps offset costs.  I’ve also tried to teach myself how to do certain tasks that others want to charge me for.  That’s why I can pretty much prep my own manuscripts for printing and I don’t need to have someone else do it for me…for a fee.  Allow me to insert a brief advertisement for my guidebook, Build a Book, which is for fellow DIYers who want to learn how to prep their own manuscripts.  That’s it pictured to the right.

This week I took one more giant “self-step” by producing a video trailer for one of my books.  I have never had much involvement in television or film so this accomplishment really feels good.  One thing I might add is that I discovered a website that made my video possible because it sold stock photos at an incredibly low price.  Normally, stock photo prices are prohibitive if I need several.  BTW, the site is http://dollarphotoclub.com.

For the video itself I used Movie Maker, a Mirosoft program that Hp almost unnoticeably includes on it desktop PCs.  This program was very intuitive and quick to learn…much easier than Power Director which I bought last year but could never master, even after watching a bunch of tutorials on YouTube.  Granted, Movie Maker is pretty basic and I missed not having a few more ways to display text.  But, overall Movie Maker did the job.  You be the judge!  Just remember, I don’t claim it to be a masterpiece of videography, but I think it’s presentable enough for Mom to post on the refrigerator door with the rest of my art projects!

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER!, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

