SAY WHAT?

IsCool (2)

I am happy to report that things are still cool.  The word “cool” is still an acceptable term to express any of the following:

  • You are okay, as in:  “How are you?”  “I’m cool.”
  • You are okay with doing something, as in:  “Wanna eat?”  “Yeah, cool!”
  • You approve, as in:  “Are you cool with that?” “Yeah, I’m cool.”
  • You are impressed, as in: “Hey, that’s really cool”
  • etc.

How do I know that cool is still cool?  I asked my granddaughter and she told me it is.  Okay, I will explain.

I am in the process of finishing up my third children’s book.  It’s about an 11-year-old boy named Christopher Arthur McDaniels who cannot seem to stay out of trouble.  He winds up in one predicament after another.  In my quest for accuracy and relevance, I need to make sure that the words that come out of Christopher’s mouth are the normal and customary words that any 11-year-old today would say. How do you check things like this?  Well, of course, you immediately “google it.”  Isn’t that what you do the moment you have a question about anything?  So if you want a list of current teenage language, do the search and you’ll get a list.  Uh-oh, “cool” wasn’t on it.  That’s why I asked the expert, my granddaughter.

Lucky me!  I just happen to have a 15-year-old granddaughter under my roof most of the week.  She and her BFF are a wealth of contemporary 21st century American teen culture.  If I didn’t tap into this pot of gold it would be an epic fail on my part.  The last thing I want is for kids who read my book to think I’m a complete noob.  Nope, they gotta think I’m one sick old man to be so in tune with their language…ain’t I cool!

*****

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SAY WHAT?

  1. Far out. Groovy post, man. Really bitchin’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

