IN TIME-OUT…AGAIN!

timeout

In case you haven’t noticed, I have not updated my blog for a while.  It is not usual for me to let my blog sit long between postings.  However, my mind has taken a time-out and I’ve been standing in the corner, facing the crevice where the two walls meet and I have been thinking about…nothing.

Nothing is not a new theme for my blog.  I have rambled on about nothing before.  In fact, I ran a series early on about nothing; even did a poem or two about nothing.  It actually caused a spike in the otherwise nothing response I get to the usual things I write about.  Nothing is not an original theme on my part either.  I cannot take credit for nothing.  A standup comedian, Jerry Seinfeld, had a good run for several years on American television.  He starred in a sitcom about nothing which touted itself as such.

So, it should be no surprise that nothing can lead to great success even if one does nothing to deserve it.  But achieving some form of success is not the motivation behind today’s posting.  Hell, if I wanted to be successful I would probably do nothing.  Doing something has proven entirely unsuccessful for me.  Even that simple little manual I wrote for beginning self-publishers is something that has resulted in nothing…I’m still waiting for the first sale ($4.95…cheap!).  But this is not unusual.  I usually get nothing in response when I do something.  Hence, I have come accustomed to expecting nothing.

As you can see, there is a lot more to nothing than lack of effort.  When something results in nothing, now that’s tellin’ you something.  For me, it’s been a lifelong trend—this doing something and getting nothing, whereas if I did nothing something has always happened.  It’ just something I’ve always noticed.

It is really good that this situation has not spread.  I do not mind that it has been relegated to me.  Please know that it takes nothing on my part to accept this burden, so do not be concerned.  The world will go on without all of us worrying about nothing.  Believe me, I can do enough worrying for us all.  Why, go ahead, put the weight of the world on my shoulders and I will feel nothing

Well, I digress.  I have really been trying to explain only one thing in today’s posting…and that is, I have nothing really to say.  I spent a long time in time-out attempting to come up with something unique to write about, but I’m in one of those dry spells—writer’s block I think they call it.  I will come out of it shortly; I always do.  But since it is not usual for me to allow the blog to become stale, I thought I would at least explain to you that I have been trying to come up with something to write about, but actually it’s nothing that keeps coming to mind.

Now mind you, the moment I come up with something worthwhile, believe me, you can count on me because I will not do nothing.  This particular posting will become a mere nothing and a new, exhilarating post about something colossal will appear as if it descended from the clouds above in a burst of glorious everything.  Just wait, you’ll see.  It may take some doing on my part, even a day or so.  But don’t you worry yourself about it one iota.   No, really, when it happens it happens and I will do whatever it takes to make something happen.  Oh, don’t thank me…it’s nothing really.

*****

 

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

