NEW SELF-PUBLISHERS: HERE’S D.I.Y. HELP!

titlehorizontal copy

Back in March I wrote a blog about an instruction manual I was working on and would publish in short time.  Short time has come…and so has the instruction manual.  It has a very specific, targeted audience and that is:  The new author who is struggling to learn the self-publishing process and how to avoid exhausting his or her bank account doing it.

Many of these newbies pay to have their manuscript converted into the format and style necessary for uploading to their publishing service for printing.  I struggled with this process for a while but now, five books later, I am well along the learning curve and I have produced this manual to help others traverse it more quickly.  My efforts are presented in the form of an e-book titled Build a Book.  That’s what it looks like in the box to the right.

Build a Book is a do-it-yourself guide to preparing a manuscript for self-publishing.  It covers all the basics you need to conquer in order to make your manuscript printer ready, whether you are downloading it to a self-publishing service or directly to a printer.  It will show you how to set your settings, from size of the book and margins to sectioning and page numbering, and even fancying up your chapter title pages.  It’s all pretty much “boilerplate” stuff that cuts through the elusive meanderings and alleyways of Microsoft Word.

You may obtain a downloaded copy for the low low price of $4.95!  What is really nice is that you do not have to scroll through pages and pages of a sales pitch or watch a half-hour video that keeps the “catch” or the price hidden to the very last moment…and then it’s a price you cannot afford.  I’ve already told you about the guide and disclosed its cost.  There’s even a sample page you can read.  Where? It’s all happening at http://marckuhn.com.

If this is a publication you would find useful and you do purchase a copy I would be very interested in your response, especially if you have things you would like to see added.  I intend to “grow” the book as new information and technology evolve.

Okay, that’s it.  End of pitch.  If this guide is remotely successful and well received I may do another one, probably covering the proper way to place dishes in a dishwasher so that each one is evenly exposed to water and soap….just kidding.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

