ATTENTION BEGINNER SELF-PUBLISHERS

instruction-manual-390x247

I’ve been layin’ low lately; been busy working on a project that I am not sure will work, but I have decided to give it a go.  My target audience is beginner self-publishers.  If you are one of them, read on!

When I first started self-publishing five books ago, I had to pay other people to help me get my manuscript ready to publish.  By my third book I pretty much had a handle on the process and I’ve been on my own ever since.  One thing for sure: it saves money when you DIY.  I hasten to note that I’ve master prepping the interior of my text-only books. I still need to hire a designer/artist to do the cover, though I usually originate the idea for it.

I know there must be a lot of beginners who are where I once was.  So I have decided to publish a manual sharing the knowledge I’ve picked up that will take anyone step-by-step through the basic process of going from a Word document to a finished, ready-to-print book.

I am sure I am not being an innovator here.  There are plenty of books and websites offering tutorials on self-publishing.  My effort will be pretty basic, uncluttered and more in line with the “for dummies” concept.  Yes, I will ask those who download my manual to forfeit a few bucks, but very few—less than a movie ticket for sure.

I will be another few weeks finishing up the manual and then putting together the mechanics of making it available on the Internet.  I hope to have all this done for a launch in May.   The reason I am telling you about it now is because I hope those who may be interested will participate in the process.  If you have a need for a manual like this I’d like to know.  Better yet, if you want to offer suggestions regarding what should be in it, proceed imediately to the comment section below this blog and have at it.  I will keep you informed on this blog as the project progresses.

Just for clarification, this manual will be sharply focused: it will offer instructions how to format your book and set up all the necessary elements to prepare it for publication.  I will not go into anything having to do with marketing or selecting services for publishing.  It will not include, I don’t think, much information about producing the design and art work for the book’s cover.  I will deal almost exclusively with the interior of a text-only publication.

My goal is to produce a simple procedure for the beginner to follow with as little frustration as possible.  The manual will hold your hand through the preparation process and save you a lot of money better spent on ice cream and chocolate.  Stay tuned to this blog for further details.  No film at 11.

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ATTENTION BEGINNER SELF-PUBLISHERS

  1. Anonymous says:

    Will be looking forward to the self publishing manual. Think it’s a great undertaking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

