JELLO

Pegall

I stood for a good long moment outside my house the other night.  I had just put the trash out for collection the next morning.  Then I stood in the driveway and stared up at my house and had a Peggy Lee moment.  Peggy Lee was a popular singer back in the 40s/50s.  One of her hit songs was this long depressing number where she took us through several events in her life and at the end of each she asked, “Is that all there is?”  I never liked the song.  It’s definitely a glass-half-empty song and by the time it’s over you sort of want to slit your wrist…or Peggy’s.

So there I stood staring up at my big two-story monthly mortgage payment and I found myself asking…is that all there is?

Now, I admit I’m not in a happy place right now.  We all have moments when things just get out of control and the world turns dysfunctional.  The trouble is, the older you get, the less patience you have with things that go wrong and the less tolerance you have attempting to make them right again.

Life is pretty basic.  You are born; you eat, sleep, grow and try to survive as long as possible.  Then you die.  It really is that simple.  All animals go through the process.  The trouble with humans is that we muck it up. We emote.

As we push our carts up and down the supermarket aisles looking for the Jello and maybe even the meaning of life, it’s not a sure thing that we will find either one.  There is Jello, but I’m not sure there is meaning to life.  Life is just life.  It goes on despite everything…including us.

Okay, Peggy.  I get it.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to JELLO

  1. Anonymous says:

    This too will Pass

    Like

  2. Leonor Torres says:

    I remember Peggy Lee very well, I guess that makes me as old or older than you…not a happy realization… Still, I enjoyed your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

