I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M WRITING ABOUT UNDERWEAR!

boxer-brief copy

Two blogs back I took a rare sidetrack and discussed men’s fashion.  I seldom go down this path so it was cool that I actually got a couple of responses, including a reblog.  For my blog, a reblog doesn’t happen often so that’s pretty special.  But I digress.  I threatened to discuss men’s underwear in that last blog and so it is with some in trepidation that I venture yet once again into a strange territory.  Brace yourself.

spongebobI was a lad who grew up in the 50’s and 60’s.  Back then, there were only two choices in male underwear:  boxers or briefs.  Most boys I knew (mind you, based on observations in the boy’s locker room during gym) wore briefs, specifically, the kind that Spongebob Squarepants often displays.  At the time, only some of our fathers wore boxers.  But that was the choice; there was never any mixing of the two.

Having only two alternatives, underwear was pretty much a give-me kind of purchase.  There was no lengthy discussion about it.  Wait, come to think about it, there was one consideration when you purchased briefs.  You could buy the Spongebob version or the Jockey version.  The Jockey brand has its own unique design.  Jockey briefs don’t have the traditional crisscross, overlapping flap in the front.  The Jockey brief simply had a solid “pocket.”  The traditional flap-front provides an opening for nature’s call. I find this useless because—and I am  making a big assumption here that most men are like me—the unflapping of the flap is way too much trouble and it is so much easier just to yank the side of the briefs over and expose what has to be exposed (did I say that tactfully enough?).  I sense some of you leaving the blog at this point.  I understand.

Since I was a briefs boy, I’ve pretty much continued that way into manhood.  I sometimes wear boxers as pajamas just because they are a little more “presentable” while walking around the house.  If I walked into the kitchen at night and the blinds were open I’d probably react differently depending on the type of underwear I’m wearing.  If I’m wearing boxers I’d probably not pay much attention.  Briefs, however, are another story. I would quickly close the blinds.  It’s because briefs are just that—briefer.

These days, men’s underwear is no longer a quick decision purchase.  Now there are all kinds of choices from Speedo-type g-strings to briefs that extend down the legs at various lengths.  And too, briefs have gone far beyond the basic white. You can get them in just about any color you want, although I don’t recall seeing pink in the popular Hanes line.

And boxers?  Well, the change here is mostly in colors and patterns and the brand name that encircles the waistband.  Boxers are still pretty much the same length and style they’ve always been. If you prefer, you can get a button in the middle of the fly.  You can also show your colors, your favorite team, celebrate a holiday or otherwise find boxers with all kinds of imprints.

Well, there you have it—my personal spin on men’s underwear for whatever purpose.  I tried to be brief.   Maybe next time I’ll discuss socks.  Can’t be much to socks…

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

