MEN’S FASHION…THE THICK OF IT

suits

I have never had much interest in fashion. When I was in my “suit” years I did attempt to stay in touch with what was “right” for the time, but I wasn’t obsessed about it.

Men’s fashion is quite simple when you come to think of it.  It’s totally the opposite of women’s where just about any parameter can be implemented, adjusted, changed or removed.  Not so with men’s fashion, I think.  While there may be changes in colors or patterns, there is usually only one thing that men’s fashion designers significantly mess with and that’s width.

Let’s look at suits, ties, shirts and belts.  What changes every few years on these articles of men’s clothing?  Mainly width.  Suits, usually the lapels, go from wide to thin and back again.  Pants go in and out in width.  Ties do the same, as do belts. Shirt collars grow and shrink, sometimes perk up or flatten.  These are the basic changes in men’s fashion.

Currently, we’re in the thin stage.  Look at the suits all the Hollywood types are wearing to the awards circuses.  The pants are incredibly narrow, making a bird-legged guy like me appear even bonier.  The jackets are tight with pulls, tugs and creases that are considered perfectly acceptable.  The ties (if one is even worn) are an inch wide.  All this will change in about ten years.

The only men’s fashion trend I used to really like was vests.  I think a suit with a vest looks great…if you aren’t overweight.  Just about every suit I wore in the ‘70s had a vest.  I was a young fashion statement…sort of.  Then vests went away and are just now showing up again.  Hip Hip Hurray–but not with the skinny jackets and pants…please.

Okay, so there you have it—my rarely exposed opinion on fashion.  Short and sweet…or do I mean narrow?  I could not help myself, especially after watching the Grammys.   Looking at all the weird stuff men are wearing today has convinced me we are in a really ugly phase for men’s apparel right now.  But, not to worry, the wider stuff will return eventually and then it, too, will go to the extreme and the eventual adjustment to width will be made once again.  Maybe that’s why they say a Brooks Brother suit is always in style.

Now, underwear…well, that’s a whole other story.  Maybe some other blog.

*****
About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MEN’S FASHION…THE THICK OF IT

Leave a Reply

