TEXTING…Where Your Fingers Do the Talking

texting1

Contributing Editor, Ron Carmean, continues to contribute.  On today’s blog, Ron has some observations about texting, which he was originally going to text, but I convinced him to write them down so they could appear in this blog.  Here’s Ron, writing…

My post-college age niece was the first person to say that to me.  “I only text.”  Of course, she meant you could not communicate with her by land line, snail mail, or face-to-face contact unless you happen to be at the same place at the same time she is.  She lives in NYC.  We live in Philadelphia.  Everyone attends a family dinner at Christmas in Philly because it’s the most convenient arrangement for everyone involved.  How is that set up?  I forget.  Text my wife for details.

texting2As samples of my niece’s texts, she gave me these.  “I’m at Guido’s.  Where R U?”  “Amy’s Saturday night.  U?”  “The steak at Peter Luger’s is fantastic!”  Her Mother and Father wonder how she got the money to be there.

All family members eventually realized how to contact her.  By rumor, I think.  Most didn’t avail themselves of her proclamation.  She didn’t seem to mind.  At Christmas dinner, she heard the anticipated comments.  “You have to open your mail.  Did you get the check I sent you?”  Do you ever answer your phone?  I called you three times last week.”  How do you know when to attend classes or go for a job interview?”  She handled the combination of interested queries and guilt-inducing statements with practiced responses.

Still, for the sake of argument, how much can you communicate with a text?  Can you outline the plot of a Shakespearian play?  As a matter of fact, yes, you can.  Guess the name of this production:  Boy meets girl.  Boy’s friend killed.  Boy kills killer; girl’s brother.  Kids upset.  One fakes death.  Other really dies.  Then first dies, too.  Families mourn.  

texting3Did you get it?  Of course you did.  Romeo and Juliet.  Is it missing anything?  Emotion.  The joy of hearing the language.  I know you can’t have everything.  For that, you might need an email.  Oh, wait.  She no longer does that either.  I’ll talk to her at Christmas dinner.

 *****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

