GEE, I WISH I WROTE THAT!

Untitled-1

After reading Ron Carmean’s, 3-star movie reviews this past week, I got to thinking about movies I liked.  Actually, most times it’s a line in the movie that’s gotten my attention.  I guess being a writer (I’ve decided I am now officially a writer since my one book won an award) I am prone to appreciate a good line; always have been. So I got to thinking about the movie lines I really like and I came up with a short list.  I’m sure if I wanted to ponder this beyond the allotted time, the list would be a lot longer.

Now, of course, there are a bunch that come to mind right away and you know them:  Go ahead make my day…Frankly Scarlett, I don’t give a damn… I coulda been a contender…Life is like a box of chocolates…Bueller? Bueller?…show me the money..I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore…Luke, I am your father.  Yep, all of those are worthy, but I have my own gems.  These are the ones I find myself using in conversations when the situation fits.  And here they are…

levitzThe movie: A  League of Their Own

The actor: John Lovitz plays a sarcastic scout who is traveling the country during WW2 recruiting girls for a professional baseball league.  Coercing one reluctant country bumpkin to board the train that has begun pulling out of the station, he says…

The line: See, how it works is, the train moves, not the station.

hanksThe movie: A League of Their Own

The actor: Tom Hanks plays a drunk, has-been baseball star now left coaching one of the all-girl teams.  One of his players doesn’t take to his crude belittling and she begins to tear up.  You know what he says…

The line: There’s no crying in baseball.

junoThe movie:  Juno

The actor:  Ellen Page, after zinging outrageous one-liners at the future and very proper adopting parents of her baby, responds when asked if she shouldn’t be going because her parents might be wondering where she is…

The line: Nah, I mean I’m already pregnant so what other shenanigans can I get into!

burgessThe movie: Rocky (the original)

The actor: Burgess Meredith is a beaten up, leftover trainer trying to convince Sylvester Stalone he needs a manager for the big fight.  I paraphrased this line many times when I burdened younger members of my staff with advice…

The line: I got all this knowledge. I got it up here (points to his head).  I want to give it to you. I want to give you this knowledge.  I want to take care of you.  I got all this sh*t and I want to make sure that it doesn’t happen to you.

megThe movie: You’ve Got Mail

The actor: Meg Ryan.  I’ve noted this quote in a previous blog, but it definitely is on my list since “I lived it many times over” during my corporate life in broadcasting.  Tom Hanks plays a huge chain book store monger who has put little individual book shop owner, Meg Ryan, out of business.  He, of course, tells her it wasn’t personal; it was business.  Her reply…

The line: All that means is that it wasn’t personal to you.  But it was personal to me…and what is so wrong with being personal anyway?

nicholsonThe movie: As Good as it Gets

The actor: Jack Nicholson plays a writer with OCD.  When he, Greg Kinnear and Helen Hunt are on the road trip to find Kinnear’s parents, Kinnear tells the sad story of how his father never accepted his son being gay.  Nicolson, with the compassion of a stone, says…

The lines: Some of us have great stories; pretty stories that take place at lakes with boats and friends and noodle salad. Just no one in this car.  But a lot of people, that’s their story: good times, noodle salad.  What makes it so hard is not that you had it bad, but that you’re that pissed that so many others had it that good.

*****

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

