TAKE THINGS FOR GRANTED? NOT ME!

gratitude

I have decided I take too many things for granted.  We all do.  We get used to things; things we use every day at and for our convenience.  After awhile we give them no thought.  We simply continue using them.  When, for one reason or another, they are suddenly not available for us to use, well, that’s when the stuff hits the fan.

I’ve decided, like people, there are just some things I should no longer take for granted.  I must be consciously aware of their presence and the pleasure and satisfaction they give me.  That said, I have begun a list of these items I hold near and dear.  Here is what I’ve compiled so far.  Perhaps you treasure these same things, too, or if you wish to add to the list, leave a comment and I will keep an ongoing list on the blog.

  • My bed and how great it is to come home to it after having to sleep somewhere else.
  • My shower which is large and has a shower head with a good heavy spray, not some wimpy little trickle.
  • Premium ice cream and how bad the cheap stuff tastes.
  • My back yard which features a nifty canal that attracts all kinds of nifty wildlife and has a nice patio with my ever-so-comfortable thinking chair that lets me rest my head on its high back if I feel sleepy.
  • My refrigerator which has things in it that I like…though I wish it were fully stocked all the time
  • Warmth…actually, I don’t think I ever take this for granted, but I need to make sure so I will include it on the list.  I cannot–repeat, cannot–stand being cold.  I hate the long, cold, gray winters up north.  That is why I live in South Florida.  I sacrifice spring and fall for this, but it is worth it because I rarely have to wear a jacket or long pants.
  • Corned beef and cabbage
  • Electricity, water, air conditioning and all the appliances that I use all the time and can’t live without.
  • Good coffee with a little half-n-half
  • Dark chocolate
  • My computer, which is like a second wife.  It knows everything about me and I can’t live and function without it.
  • My four books, all of which are showcased on my blog and none of which I thought ten years ago would even exist….and the few folks who have been kind enough to read them—I’ll never take you for granted.
  • Saturday mornings…they always feel like none other, even after I retired which leaves one day pretty much like the rest.  But Saturday morning has its own special atmosphere.  People are up and out hustling chores or going places for fun.  Most everyone is in a good mood and even the birds seem to be chirping a little more than they do the rest of the week.
  • A nice lawn with no weeds or unevenness or bare spots….I’ve never had one of these but I sure like the huge expanse of the one up the street from me at the neighborhood park.
  • A nicely shaped tree that is full and rich with leaves.
  • Quiet …why do there always have to be radios or music on in stores and restaurants?
  • A clean house with no clutter and no layer of dust on everything.
  • My camera.  It takes great pictures.  I would have never spent so much money on a camera, but my wife did and for that I am photothankful.  I wish I understood how to use it better.
  • My Yamaha acoustic guitar that I got in 1975 which sits on a stand in the corner of my room, a constant reminder of my dreams of someday learning how to play it.  Though I was making progress back then, it was interrupted and I’ve never returned because the older I get, the more difficult it is to learn.  It is a major regret of mine, and one I do not take for granted.

Well, that’s enough to get started.  You got anything you want to add?

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

