SQUIRRELED AWAY IN MY BACKYARD

Plantation3sm

In past blogs I’ve talked about all the incredible animal life we have in our backyard, mainly because we have a canal about 25 feet off the patio.  Yes, we have an occasional gator pass by, but not often.  Mostly we have all those exotic birds you see in picture books about Florida.  And we have tons of ducks and geese and turtles and frogs and lizards and fish oh my.

Included in this little menagerie of ours are the squirrels.  I never talk about the squirrels.  I guess I take them for granted because squirrels have always lived where I’ve lived, especially in the city. So, unlike many of the creatures I have in my backyard now, I’ve seen squirrels my whole life.  Some say they look like cute little bunnies; others say take away the bushy tail and you got your basic rat.  I lean toward the first choice, especially when they stand up on their rear legs, fold their “fingers” together on their upper arms and stare quizzically up at me as if saying, “Please sir, might you have a spare nut for me?”

Florida squirrels are a bit different from northern squirrels.  They look a little anemic.  Their coat isn’t as thick and their tails are nowhere near as bushy.  Obviously all this extra insulation isn’t needed here in Florida.

We have a large, two-story+ tree out back and it is home for a few squirrels that have adopted us as their friendly human neighbors.  This is easily accomplished because we buy a large bag of peanuts every week and dispense them daily.  Hence, the squirrels have become less timid than usual and, at times, even a little daring.  They will take a nut from our hands and they will hop up on the chairs and table to see if we left any there.  Of course if BillTheDog is outside sunning himself, the squirrels wisely choose to stay aloft.

I have noticed lately, that one or two of the squirrels actually seem to be curious about my wife and me in spite of the peanuts we supply.  I had my camera fired up yesterday and when I walked over to the tree to take a picture of one squirrel I was quite surprised.  Usually they run.  Not this time.  This guy actually came closer and seemed to almost pose for a few shots.  Maybe it only because he expected more nuts…or just maybe he cooperated because I told him I’d give him the usual deluxe package for free—you know, one 8×10, two 5x7s and ten wallet size.  Anyway, I know you might think, “big deal, squirrels” but I thought I would  share some of the pictures.  He seemed to be quite proud of them.

squirrelcollage copy

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

