Okay Peggy, I Get It!

readbook

A hard, hold-in-your-hands-and-smell-it copy of my new book, DEAD LETTER, arrived on my doorstep yesterday.  If you have ever written a book or a thesis or even an essay or special report for school, then you know the feeling you get once it’s all done, wrapped up and bound, whether with a staple in the corner or a full binding with glossy cover.

There it is in your sweaty paws as you say to yourself, “I did this!”  And, then a few minutes later, after the euphoria subsides, you find yourself thinking….now what?  It’s like that awful moment when the last Christmas present has been opened and you know there are no more left.  What now?  Yes, I know, I have all these wonderful gifts to start using and enjoying…but oh that I could have one more to open just for the wondfulness of the opening itself!

Do you remember, if you are old enough, that miserable song Peggy Lee sang that was titled “Is That All There Is?”  (link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2l8erdPprSc)   I used to think that was the God-awfulest song I had ever heard.  I never really  understood the point.  Sadly, now I do.  So, I find myself sitting here sort of melancholy, with my new book in hand and thinking is that all there is?  Actually there is a lot more.  I have to market this new baby, and that is the real challenge for a self-publisher—ah, independent  publisher as we are now called.  I have been busy getting ready for this.

I have a full-fledged media kit which is stuffed with pages about the book and me and anything else relevant.  It’s all done up color-coordinated and fancy with graphics and display cards. It looks real professional, if I do say so myself.  But then, I was once a professional marketing-type person so it should look good.  I also have a list of about 30+ very targeted folks to send these to.  That will cost a bundle.  Then there are a bunch more things to do beyond that.  Oh yeah, I’m being interviewed on the radio next week.  That’s a hoot considering I worked in radio my entire life and I was always the interviewER, not the EE.  Meanwhile, my mind is already meandering around the stratosphere looking for the next idea…the next unique premise to mull over and begin taking notes on and doing research for–the next present to open.

I hope to be making the official announcement in the next few days that DEAD LETTER is finally available for the world to see.  The paperback is ready.  The Kindle and Nook versions are still being put together.  They are a little more difficult since there are some peculiar graphics at the top of the first ten chapters.  When transferring these to e-versions, they have a nasty habit of wandering onto pages where they don’t belong or morphing themselves into hideous dimensions.  Such is the nature of Nook and Kindle technology.   So it is hurry up and wait…my tolerance level is being tested.  Best I should grab a cup of coffee and find a cushy seat and settle in for the long haul…me and Peggy.

DeadLetter_ebook*********************************

Soon, Soon, SOON!

It’s called DEAD LETTER.

Stay tuned to this blog for further details

*********************************

Other books by Marc Kuhn: THE POPE’S STONE, an historical novel that follows two descendants of a Virginia family who, despite living a century apart, share uncanny similarities in their lives; NEVER GOOSE A MOOSE, a collection of whimsical verse featuring thought-provoking “never-do’s” that children should beware of; and ABOUT A FARM, a children’s book about challenges we all face every day, regardless of where we live. All three books are available at amazon.com and each has its own .com website under its title.

Intimate details about Marc Kuhn and other exhilarating stuff at marckuhn.com

Many of the pictures used on my blog are photographs I’ve taken. If you see one you want and it is one of mine, simply ask in the comment section below and I will send it to you. Other illustrations used within this blog are culled from available images on the Internet. Copyrighted material is not intentionally displayed. If a source is provided, attribution is included on the blog. There is no attempt to steal or devalue any material used within this blog. If you have an issue or concern about anything included in the text or illustrations on this blog, please contact me.

Marc’s Blog is copyrighted 2012, 2013, Marc L. Kuhn. Reblogging is permitted with notification to author and if presented with attribution to source. Other reproduction, whether in whole or in part, must receive permission from author. Contact author via comment on this blog space or at info@marckuhn.com

 

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

